1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support wifi

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by njtexas, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. njtexas

    njtexas Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    41
    0
    15
    Day 2 of my Droid Incredible 2. I'm confused when I should use my wifi versus just my 3G network.

    I work from home most of the time and my house is wifi. Should I keep the droid on wifi or on 3G. I'm a novice when it comes to all of this. Does it help battery life if I keep it on wifi?

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ngo93

    Ngo93 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    586
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    keep it on wifi, it uses less battery than 3g
     
  3. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    +1

    I always use wifi when I'm home because it does in fact use less battery than 3G. When I leave my house, I turn off wifi, turn on 3g, and I'm out the door. Best way to do it imo.
     
  4. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333
    +1

    I keep mine on wifi when I'm at home. Especially if you have great internet service at home, it takes less time to download on a fast connection so in theory it should use less battery since data transferring drains the battery. Well that's what I think at least...haha.

    Have a good one.
     
  5. anguish

    anguish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    134
    6
    36
    IT bitch
    Hell's Outhouse
    Another vote for that, although I'm using JuiceDefender to assist with it. Works well.
     
  6. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    Yep, wifi here too when I'm at home.
     
  7. steve6163

    steve6163 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    Add me to the wifi-at-home list. The only time I switch to 3G at home is for phone calls, because people on the other end have said the call sounds better on 3G as opposed to wifi. Otherwise it's wifi at home, 3G on the road.
     
  8. mutato

    mutato Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    19
    1
    16
    This may sound like a dumb question, but I see in settings where I can turn Wifi on..but how do I turn 3G off?
     
  9. Stealthman

    Stealthman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    491
    38
    43
    I leave my wifi on all the time and my phone automatically switches off 3G and goes into wifi
     
  10. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    Menu > settings > wireless and network > mobile networks > check/uncheck 3G data

    At least thats where it is for me, might be slightly different on the Incredible 2
     
  11. seejoshplay

    seejoshplay Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    131
    8
    36
    There are several handy widgets that do this, the HTC one is okay, and I use switchpro for 99 cents. A bit better because you can cram eight common widgets on one bar, very handy for flicking 3g on and off.
     
  12. mutato

    mutato Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    19
    1
    16
    It's similar except it does say 3G data.under Mobile Network it just says "Connected" .. nothing about 3G in my settings.
     
  13. victek

    victek Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #222
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    472
    66
    63
    Just curious as to why you would want to turn 3G off. If you're on an unlimited plan (aren't we all at this point?) usage doesn't matter. If wifi is connected I believe the phone will default to it.
     
  14. mutato

    mutato Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    19
    1
    16
    Battery usage?
     

Share This Page

Loading...