1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Wildfire s unable to locate region?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Icehockey44, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. Icehockey44

    Icehockey44 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hi All,

    I am trying to set up my HTC Sense account. I have set it up on the computer, but when I sign in on my phone, it keeps coming up with "unable to determine your region" and "unable to get the region from your server"

    Has this anything to do with the fact that I don't have a gmail account, so have not signed up or logged into any of that, that is all over my phone?

    Looking forward to hearing all of your suggestions, as I would like some new things on my new phone!!


    Cheers

    Donna
     

    Advertisement

  2. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    It's possible. HTC might be using Google's location awareness framework. You need to log into Google at least once, if so. Try firing up maps. That should get your phone to recognize it's locale. If you still can't get it after that, then most likely it's a server side issue, one HTC would have to fix at their end. Hope this helps.
     
  3. Icehockey44

    Icehockey44 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Thanks for this Brotherswing, i sorted it by not being at home!! I have poor internet connection as I live in the sticks. but when I went into town it all worked fine.

    thanks for the suggestion tho.

    Cheers

    Donna
     

Share This Page

Loading...