1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General will a G1 work on pre paid?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SupraEA, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. SupraEA

    SupraEA Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    90
    13
    18
    I am currently using a Sprint Hero and looking into buying my girlfriend a pre paid android phone since she doesn't really use the "phone" so much and I love android. Does the G1 work if its on a pre paid plan? If its rooted, will it work? cause I can do that too. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. fratermus

    fratermus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    G1 works on prepaid, but depending on the phone you may need to use a wifi hack or borrow a TMO sim w/data to tie it to google the first time. After that it doesn't care if there's data or not.
     
    SupraEA likes this.
  3. Skarekro5556

    Skarekro5556 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    if you have at least cell service you can hit Menu>APN>New APN>Put APN for the first open space and Wap.voicestream.com for the second line and save and then sign into your Gmail account and it should go through (this is from my personal experience only) just fine. I used a T-mobile Prepaid Sim that i had activated over the phone with a Tmobile Rep and all went well (just make sure you have them put your minutes card on for you)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...