1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Will any boot animation work on my Phone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by A.Nonymous, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    Can I download any boot animation and put it on my phone, or is it only ones made for my particular model of phone that will work? I see all kinds of cool boot animations out there, but I can't seem to find a clear answer to the question.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    I'm pretty sure any animation will work, just make a nandroid before flashing.
     
  3. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    Cool. I just can't seem to find the location of the bootanimation file I need to over right on Nils Business Sense ROM. /data/local, and /system/media don't seem to work.

    Edit: Had my slashes going the wrong way. Damn command lines. The bootanimation doesn't seem to work at all. It's a completely black screen. I literally power it on, there's a completely and totally blank screen for 20-30 seconds, then my home screen pops up like normal. Very freaky. I'm screwing something up I'm sure.
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Yeah, I've never really messed with boot animations, but there are probably some that won't work because of screen resolution differences.
     
  5. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    I would think screen resolution differences would cause the animation to look distorted, not be completely blank.
     
  6. PSkeptic

    PSkeptic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    905
    97
    78
    IT Project Manager
    Buffalo, NY USA
    You need a kernel that support boot anis (Yes, I know, stock has a boot animation, but that's built-in to the kernel). Try a different kernel, or ROM that has a kernel with support (CM does I believe).
     
  7. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    I'm using Nils Business Sense ROM. It's got a boot animation on it. I pushed the old R2D2 animation from the Droid2 to it just as a proof of concept that I could change it. It worked without any problems. I really want to use this animation that's used in the example there. It's designed for the Vibrant though. I went in the desc.txt file and it looks like it's the right resolution or similar enough that it should work. When I try it, I get a blank screen though. I think I need to play with that desc.txt file, but didn't have time last night to dig into it.
     
  8. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    I figured it out. Basically, the images in the archive have to be jpegs, not pngs and the zip drive needed to have no compression. I have to figure out how to add a nice boot sound to it. That's another project though I think.
     
  9. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    good to know, thanks
     
  10. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    Yeah, everything on the web insisted they had to be PNGs. I started looking at bootanimations that actually worked though and they were all jpegs.
     
  11. PSkeptic

    PSkeptic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    905
    97
    78
    IT Project Manager
    Buffalo, NY USA
    Good to know :) The jpeg thing must be phone specific, since my boot ani is in pngs.

    But my custom ones never work, and I think I know why: Compression on the zip file :)
     
  12. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    Yup. Either that or a desc.txt file isn't right, but that's hard to screw up. Any compression causes it to fail I determined.
     

Share This Page

Loading...