1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Will DX2 root the same way DX1 does?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by John58543, May 19, 2011.

  1. John58543

    John58543 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    341
    27
    43
    West Texas
    I'll be interested to see how the root process works with the DX2...should be similar to original DX right??? Thoughts?:thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Piscea

    Piscea Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    A/V and anything else low voltage
    SL,UT
    Hopefully it does.
    I just ordered mine online for an amazing price of $149.99 with 2 year contract.
    No one can tell me why I'm getting it for less than 199.99, and I don't wanna wait around and miss the deal.

    I never bothered to root my original droid so I'm looking forward to it being relatively painless on the new X2
     
  3. Steven58

    Steven58 "The Unqualified Moderator!"
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,973
    Posts:
    33,647
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,647
    26,521
    3,973
    Male
    New Jersey, US of A
    since it's froyo, I'm guessing yes. GB may be a bit different. I.e., you may have to flash a pre-rooted rom.
     
  4. John58543

    John58543 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    341
    27
    43
    West Texas
    Well I guess we'll be finding out relatively soon...I'll get mine tomorrow afternoon, but I don't know if I'll want to root it immediately/be the guinea pig lol...we shall see.
     
  5. Piscea

    Piscea Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    A/V and anything else low voltage
    SL,UT
  6. John58543

    John58543 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    341
    27
    43
    West Texas
    YAy! Well, I guess when I'm ready I can do it relatively easily. NICE!
     
  7. Piscea

    Piscea Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    A/V and anything else low voltage
    SL,UT
    I'm not very knowledgeable on rooting and such, and unsure of what the significance of having the bootloader unlocked is, so this may only be a small feather in the cap in unlocking and getting the device to 'vanilla'.
     
  8. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    I wont root until there is a working sbf
     
  9. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US


    negative ghostrider. The bootloader will more than likely never be unlocked on the DX1 or 2
     
  10. theguru1974

    theguru1974 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    27
    3
    16

    Sbf?
     
  11. MrBrine

    MrBrine Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    My understanding is that with root but with a locked bootloader, you can get restricted apps and do a little customization, but you can't do really cool stuff like getting custom ROMs and kernels. What sort of things can you do with a rooted x2?

    I'm in the happy position of needing to get a new vzw phone, and I really like the specs on the x2. However, this bootloader business might be a dealbreaker.
     
  12. Piscea

    Piscea Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    A/V and anything else low voltage
    SL,UT
    Do you need an unlocked bootloader to remove bloatware.
    The only reason I can think of for me to root it getting rid of the pre-installed crap apps and hopefully using the hotspot feature without paying an extra $20 a month(which is asinine to begin with)
     
  13. John58543

    John58543 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    341
    27
    43
    West Texas

    Well be careful, Verizon has been cracking down on rooted users using the free tether apps...I heard that someone's account got shut down and they were billed the ETF (early termination fee) and had to pay back their discounts...
     
  14. theguru1974

    theguru1974 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    27
    3
    16
    You don't need an unlocked bootloader to remove bloatware. Rooting is all you need. I rooted last night using the GingerBreak method and installed Titanium Backup, which allows you to "freeze" (effectively remove) any offending apps.

    Eric
     
    Piscea and coolpoete like this.
  15. coolpoete

    coolpoete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    332
    57
    73
    Alabama
    That's great, I got mine for 160 as an upgrade through VZW online. Did you order yours through Verizon or somewhere else?
     
  16. ZeroOveride

    ZeroOveride Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    New York
    I didn't want to use up my upgrade and got it for $449 full retail, which is not bad for a Tegra 2 Android phone.
     
  17. Piscea

    Piscea Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    A/V and anything else low voltage
    SL,UT
    I ordered mine from verizon online also. It too was ~160 with tax and such
     
  18. rushmore

    rushmore Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Silent but friendly....
     
  19. rushmore

    rushmore Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky

    Seems the games and Blockbuster can be uninstalled to get some of the flash storage back. Seems there is at least 1gb of bloat, based on the 4.3gb free. The device storage is part of the original 7.5 usable GBs, but the 4.3gb does not bridge all of the 7.5gb. Must be bloat.
     

Share This Page

Loading...