1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Will Froyo run on Qualcomm MSM 7227 processor?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Kowalski, Jun 17, 2010.

  1. Kowalski

    Kowalski Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Russia
    There are a lot of interesting devices showed up recently, which based on Qualcomm MSM 7227 processor ARMv6.
    Its a cheep and very nice processor for its price, and i was going to buy cheep divice, based on it, but there is a question appeared:
    Will Android 2.2 Froyo work on this MSM 7227 processor ?
    Or it will be working only on ARMv7 Snapdragon, Cortex A8 and later processors?:mad:

    A saw info that froyo works exclusively on ARMv7 processors and better:mad:
    And will not support ARMv6. Is that true? Or support of ARMv6 will be added later?
     

    Advertisement

  2. kad3t

    kad3t Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    The answer to this question is a difficult one. It depends if you're asking about it running officially or just running? Officially, I have no clue but HTC aparently said that all devices that came out this year will have it. I have no clue if that is true, though. On the other hand if I were you I would expect it no doubt unofficially, as there are already first, simple ports for 7200A, so I see why there shouldn't be any for a better CPU. Check the XDA Developers forums and I'm sure you'll find your answer there in no time. ^__^
     
  3. Kowalski

    Kowalski Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Russia
    Thanks fo respond, kad3t
    I will try to wisit XDA Developers forums
     
  4. kad3t

    kad3t Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Welcome, mate!
    It's a great place. Same as this forum, but more developement/custom ROM centered and less about games and apps. Loads of helpful people out there and they do often help others even with the least crucial issues.
     
  5. mauriciocn

    mauriciocn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    The Qualcomm MSM7227 is a member of ARM11 family, wich is build using the ARMv6 architecture.
    See the problem? The family name and the name of architecture are similar.
    If froyo need a ARM7 (family) processor, it must run fine with the Qualcomm MSM7227 (ARM11 family).
     
  6. tiggerlator

    tiggerlator Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    50
    10
    18
    It runs on a wildfire which has a 7225 528mhz chip, so i dont see why not.
     
  7. xzillerationer

    xzillerationer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    197
    12
    58
    Highschooler
    I'm not sure... I think... somewhere...
    Doesn't the G1 have a 2.2 rom? All I know is, that my Eris running a 527 MHz CPU(don't know the exact specs) has a Froyo ROM and it doesn't fly, IT SPRINTS(although it's on Verizon...). I'd say, save up money and buy a beefier device.
     
  8. ls377

    ls377 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    40
    4
    16
    The Aria runs this processor, and it's been said it will get Froyo this year. I'm also already running Froyo on it using Cyanogenmod, so it will work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...