1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Will it work on GSM/3G in Europe?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by acunningham, May 18, 2010.

  1. acunningham

    acunningham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009

    Jul 2, 2009
    18
    0
    15
    I'm based in Europe but travel to the USA frequently. If I bought an unlocked EVO 4G when next in the USA, and brought it back to Europe, will it work on GSM for voice calls and 3G for data?
     

    Advertisement

  2. pwabbit

    pwabbit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    502
    60
    78
    Nope. You might be better off with the T-Mobile HD2.
     
  3. acunningham

    acunningham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009

    Jul 2, 2009
    18
    0
    15
    Thanks, but I'm not interested in a Windows phone. In that case, an HTC Desire it is then...
     
  4. outoffocus

    outoffocus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    145
    0
    35
    sucks that the industry has figured out a way to create 'network zones' for smart phones. this limits our ability to buy unlocked phones in cheaper markets (US). is the phone radio hardware really different or is it software locked to the network?
     
  5. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    No the Evo 4g is CDMA and WiMax only and really only US CDMA (compared to WCDMA. Does work in Canada I believe). Which means it has no SIM card and generally can only be put on the Network it was built for. People have success moving most phones to another CDMA carrier here or in Canada but that is dependent on that Carrier and the Original carrier. All CDMA phones have a built in ESNs which have to be registered on a carriers network to receive the Signal.

    Well all GSM smart phones in the US come locked but usually you can get them unlocked pretty easily and then just throw a SIM in it. CDMA US phones can be "Unlocked" but it means something different. An unlocked CDMA smartphone usually means you can now install custom ROMS on them.. it has nothing to do with the network. So basically if you buy a Sprint phone on Ebay, for example, it will work on Sprint... and possibly Verizon, Telus, US Cellular, Cellular South, and a few other CDMA carriers if those carriers will allow the ESN to be activated or flashed to their network

    Having said all this.... I don't think people will have much succes trying to get the EVO to work on any other CDMA carriers (My Opinion) and WiMax is Sprint only here (well and Clear)
     
  6. drksilenc

    drksilenc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    420
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    420
    68
    53
    Helpdesk and asset management
    Pittsburgh area
    wimax isnt us only... wimax has markets all over europe on the same freq's as the us so dont just generalize
     
  7. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    Didn't mean to imply that WiMax was US only... That (US) was meant for the CDMA not WiMax... And further down I meant that only Sprint and Clear were offering WiMax in the US. But now that you mention it yes there are other markets that use the same frequency but Sprint and whomever the other WiMax carrier would be would have to allow that device on to their network.. I will make notes in my original post.
     
  8. ramanmilan

    ramanmilan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009

    Oct 7, 2009
    104
    2
    36
    S&A
    HTC evo 4g can be operated on 3G as well and the frequency for 3G is 2100 in America and in UK so it should work if you can get it unlocked.

    i just found this info on the internet ask an expert before buying it.
     
  9. acunningham

    acunningham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009

    Jul 2, 2009
    18
    0
    15
  10. ramanmilan

    ramanmilan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009

    Oct 7, 2009
    104
    2
    36
    S&A
    here-http://www.worldtimezone.com/gsm.html

    scroll down to united kingdom, usa to see the frequencies for 3G.
     
  11. acunningham

    acunningham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009

    Jul 2, 2009
    18
    0
    15
    ramanmilan, would you also have the link that says that the HTC evo 4g can be operated on 3G?
     
  12. ramanmilan

    ramanmilan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009

    Oct 7, 2009
    104
    2
    36
    S&A
  13. acunningham

    acunningham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009

    Jul 2, 2009
    18
    0
    15
    Unfortunately that page makes no mention of a SIM card, and without that it cannot work on GSM or 3G networks outside the USA.

    Can anyone who owns a HTC EVO 4G confirm whether it uses a normal GSM/3G style SIM card or not?
     
  14. acunningham

    acunningham Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009

    Jul 2, 2009
    18
    0
    15
    I also see no mention of GSM on that page, which means no voice calls when outside 3G coverage. I'm thinking this is a non-starter.
     
  15. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    Incorrect. The EVO 4g operates on CDMA at 1900mhz. It is not a GSM phone.
     
  16. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    He is wrong. The EVO 4g is CDMA only. It does not have a SIM card, it does not have a GSM antenna, it operates on the CDMA Network at 1900 MHz. Here is a list of places outside the states where it might roam but the prices would be ridiculous.

    CDG : Worldwide : Worldwide

    After clicking the link click the drop down on the left side of the page for all frequencies and choose 1900mhz and then search. It will list all the places that use cdma at that frequency
     
  17. nobdoor

    nobdoor Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    Has anybody tried registering an EVO ESN onto a non-data Sprint plan?

    I want to buy off ebay, then register a basic plan on an EVO, but I don't want to blow my $$ until I know it may work.
     
  18. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    :thinking:

    Did you mean, "all carrier subsidized phones come locked"? Because there are numerous phones available for purchase and use in the US which come "unlocked.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...