1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root will rooting fix bad esn

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mbg237, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. mbg237

    mbg237 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    so i bought an evo from craigslist and called sprint to activate it and sprint says its still activated on another accound. so what are options?? if i root the phone will i be able to fix it. i also saw somewhere i can change the esn, does that mean i would take the esn from my broken lg and set it to the htc? thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    what you are talking about is illegal. you can't switch esn's like that. you could get into serious trouble and i do not recommend any such action. that is the issue when buying phones from ebay or craigslist. you need to check to see if you have a good phone or not before buying it. sorry man i think that you are SOL. on this one.
     
    EarlyMon and mbg237 like this.
  3. mbg237

    mbg237 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    so i bought an evo from craigslist and called sprint to activate it and sprint says its still activated on another accound. so what are options?? if i root the phone will i be able to fix it. i also saw somewhere i can change the esn, does that mean i would take the esn from my broken lg and set it to the htc? thanks!
     
  4. mbg237

    mbg237 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    i think so to, i dont know anything about stuff like this, when i was looking for options those are some things that came up. but thanks
     
  5. I.B. Pimpin

    I.B. Pimpin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    40
    17
    18
    Not unless you have a close buddy that works for Sprint. Seriously though no you can't. What is the reason it has a bad ESN. Is it stolen? Was there an insurance claim filed on it? Failure to pay bill?

    Edit: Nevermind I see why. You can contact whoever sold you the phone and tell them to drop it from their account. That is if they didn't steal it.
     
    mbg237 likes this.
  6. mbg237

    mbg237 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    i actually just talked to sprint and they said his account was restricted bc he didnt pay balance. sucks for me, at least i didnt pay to much for it!
     
  7. IAmSixNine

    IAmSixNine Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    237
    25
    43
    Service Manager for a wireless recycler.
    Dallas, TX
    Your not out of luck. Put it back on CL but advertise its got a bad ESN and it will work great for someone wanting to re-flash it for metro PCS or Cricket or something.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...