1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Will Samsung update work with and/or kill root?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fox Mulder, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,629
    1,155
    393
    NYC
    I'm rooted on my P3113 with the stock ROM, wondering if the just-released JB update will work through Kies with the root, and if it does will it then un-do the root?
    Not in any hurry to update but would still like to know.
     

    Advertisement

  2. twogbsd

    twogbsd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    2,014
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    I believe you will unroot :(

    But personally, I would get CM10.1 (Android 4.2), its prerooted, doesn't have all that stupid bloat, and its the latest version of Android! It runs smooth on the P3113... I would try it if I were you ;) Look it up on xda :D
     
  3. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #78
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,629
    1,155
    393
    NYC
    Yeah maybe later on. Probably just keeping it as is for now, was just curious.
     
  4. socobandit

    socobandit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    230
    24
    38
    SE PA
  5. lauralana9

    lauralana9 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012

    Jul 14, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Do I have to unroot my tablet first? or am I ok with leaving it as is then rerooting after.
     
  6. jaburns180

    jaburns180 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    37
    0
    15
    Bella Roma pizza
    east tennessee
    Do you have to be rooted to get the cm10.1 if so where can I find a root
     
  7. twogbsd

    twogbsd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    2,014
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Nope. All you need is CWM :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...