1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Will the note I717 get T-Mobile 4g lte?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jose224, Mar 28, 2013.

  1. jose224

    jose224 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    141
    13
    38
    Male
    School Lol
    Washington DC
    I wanted to know because my mom has a mote and currently has the blaze 4g radio on it if the phone does get 4g lte will I have to revert to the stock radio
     

    Advertisement

  2. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    Maybe??
    What's her location?
     
  3. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Unless the device has a radio chip that supports the 1700/2100 MHz spectrum for their LTE, it won't pick it up no matter how much software modification you do on it.
     
  4. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    There's a big thread about TMobile LTE on the xda i717 forum; also an article somewhere about one picking up LTE out west, hopefully stock!
     
  5. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    The answer appears to be yes. This is roughly North and Ashland, Chicago. I saw it getting on the highway and then again getting off on our way back about 4 hours later.
    [​IMG]

    I also saw some really weird upload speeds, from 30 to 70, with normal upload speeds a few days before. I don't know what to make of that.

    Stock rooted, unlocked i717 with a prepaid TMobile sim. No roms, no radios, no nothin. :D
     
  6. jose224

    jose224 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    141
    13
    38
    Male
    School Lol
    Washington DC
    Stock att radio?
     
  7. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    Yes sir. Stock stock stock stock (because people seen to overlook that). :D
     
  8. jose224

    jose224 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    141
    13
    38
    Male
    School Lol
    Washington DC
    Do you get tmobile 3g/4g?
     
  9. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    Yes, via refarmed 1900 I assume.
     
  10. jose224

    jose224 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    141
    13
    38
    Male
    School Lol
    Washington DC
    Quick question do you know if I update my note will it lock the phone again and update the modem
     
  11. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,790
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,790
    1,834
    693
    Male
    USA
    I'm thinking of getting a note (i717). I'm hoping I can get decent speeds and unlocking to Tmobile.
     
  12. jose224

    jose224 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    141
    13
    38
    Male
    School Lol
    Washington DC
    Speeds are really great 7 mbps +
     
    tube517 likes this.
  13. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,790
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,790
    1,834
    693
    Male
    USA
    Unlocked my Gnote (i717) and I have TMobile running. I need to post screenshots of it picking up 4G LTE. I get the same icon and speedtest info (Network showing as LTE) that bob posted above. Stock and unrooted.
     
  14. jose224

    jose224 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    141
    13
    38
    Male
    School Lol
    Washington DC
    Are you on ics?
     
  15. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,790
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,790
    1,834
    693
    Male
    USA
    Nope, Gingerbread. Don't really want stock ICS or stock JB

    Having problems trying to root (won't connect to my laptop). Speeds are fast, though. As good as my Amaze (HSPA+)
     
  16. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,790
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,790
    1,834
    693
    Male
    USA
    I am on jellybean now on a custom Rom. I am getting HSPA speeds now.
     
  17. debs_basu

    debs_basu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I am on stock rom, got 4G-LTE speeds in Dallas today!
     
  18. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    441
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    What were they at? Can you screen shot it? this is so relevant to me because I am looking to buy one soon.
     
  19. Napdan

    Napdan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013

    Jun 16, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Hello I have a rooted i717 on tmobile but when I upgraded to jb my signal went out. Any remedies? I have gone to ice but I want to use jb with tmobile 4g. I was getting 4g with ics. Anything would help. Thanks
     
  20. skarface1988

    skarface1988 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012

    Dec 13, 2012
    173
    13
    38
    Please help!.
    So what if i get the att i717 unlocked and use it as tmobile.
    My area has 1700/2100 band

    Will i get LTE???
     

Share This Page

Loading...