1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Will the Photon have only WiMax?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sixshooterz, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. sixshooterz

    sixshooterz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    1
    16

    Advertisement

  2. ericdabbs

    ericdabbs Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    15
    3
    16
    Someone from sprintusers forum has said it doesn't have the Wimax and LTE chip (BCS500) in it. The BCS500 chip just came out not too long ago and it has support for LTE and Wimax 2 in addition to Wimax 1.

    This thread with post 34 confirms that it uses the BCS350 chip which means it only supports Wimax 1 =(.

    Just received my Photon 4G!!! - Page 3 - SprintUsers.com
     
  3. simcha

    simcha Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    436
    165
    78
    Male
    Employed
    Oakland, CA
    That's a bit disappointing since LTE is most likely the future and Sprint may upgrade to Wimax 2 soon, according to rumors.
     
  4. busted bones

    busted bones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    515
    74
    78
    Shipping and Receiving Manager
    That would be strange for them to have a WiMAX 2 antenna in the phone but only have a chip that supports WiMAX 1. Very very strange.
     
  5. busted bones

    busted bones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    515
    74
    78
    Shipping and Receiving Manager
    It only is a person saying that is has that and not really a diagram showing that is what it contains. I would want to see a diagram showing that. Weve already seen that it contains an antenna for WiMAX 2 and it would be really stupid not to put a chip in there that doesnt support that.
     
  6. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,783
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,783
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    RiverOfIce's post in the "Excitement" thread makes me not worry about this at all:

    http://androidforums.com/2931826-post82.html

    At the earliest, next year? No problem, by then all the technology will be integrated in the next phone!
     
  7. mkvoran

    mkvoran Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    89
    32
    23
    Product Developer, Category Manager
    St. Louis MO
    Not really all that hard to believe. It could be an inventory/SKU management issue. For example maybe they needed to order more WiMax antennas - why order WiMax 1 when they can order WiMax 2 and just use those on every WiMax device. And perhaps they have excess inventory of the BCS350 chip, and need to use them.

    Just a thought. Take it or leave it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...