1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Will there ever be a way to root without Revolutionary?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Evo4Gx, Dec 2, 2011.

  1. Evo4Gx

    Evo4Gx Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    It just doesn't work for me plain and simple. I have tried the copy and paste thing and whatnot. Why even use the whole key thing? What's the point of it? I assume it is just generating a random alpha numeric number based off of another. Although I am inputting my proper serial, does it even know whether or not the serial is valid? I don't think so, it's no way. It's just a half ass program generating a random number that takes the world to make work. There needs to be another way. What is the point of the serial and the key? It's stupid!! I know I'm venting. I just had to get it out.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The key is there in case something goes very wrong for everybody they can just stop issuing beta keys until they get the problem fixed.

    And no, there most likely will not be a different way to root the EVO.

    The copy/paste method is what works for me. The authentication system may be down or something. Give it a few days and try again
     
  3. RCope48

    RCope48 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    151
    64
    53
    Boiler Master
    Colorado
    Is it not accepting your key? What I did was copy and paste the number into notepad, that shows exactly what characters there are, no mistaking the number1 for l, and then I just typed it in, and it took off...try it again, be patient, and read a lot, these guys know their stuff!;)
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I didn't need notepad, i just wrote down the serial key on a notepad on 2 different computers and the beta key was accepted.

    But to answer the op's question about another rooting method, I would venture to guess another rooting method will come along sometime but who knows
     
    ocnbrze and Rxpert83 like this.
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Personally, I don't see it happening.

    With Sprint gradually moving away from the Evo's I dont think we will see an update closing our loophole at this point. The only way I see us using a new method is *if* ICS makes an OTA appearance from sprint. Which I think is a long-shot.

    There was a thread from someone else recently about the beta key not working. It may be down. This happens, give it some time.
     
    frenchy714, ocnbrze and andygu3 like this.
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    The only reason I see a different rooting method possibly coming along is because of the enormous development following of the Evo 4G. New thoughts and ways of rooting may come along at some point in time, seeing that developers may also run into these same issues.
     
    frenchy714 and ocnbrze like this.
  7. Evo4Gx

    Evo4Gx Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Is there even a real way for them to tell one serial from another or that a serial is actually valid? This may be part of the problem itself.
     
  8. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I'm sure their database logs the serial numbers and attaches the issued beta key to that serial #.
    I'm not really sure because I rooted before the gingerbread update and I used unrevoked.
    I've seen people try 6-10 times before it took, be patient, breath deep and try all of the little tips Ocn put in the guide.
    Please keep us posted as far as what you try because you may discover another little trick that can be shared with the community. ;)
     
    argedion likes this.
  9. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    I didn't have any problem with rooting my phone with revoulutionary I followed the guide to the t. I read it about 5 times before I actually tried it. If you have already come to a point of frustration may I suggest you leave it alone for a bit. Once your calm then try again
     
    frenchy714 and ocnbrze like this.
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    also another suggestion is to try notepad++. i tried the copy and paste trick with notepad and that did not work, but as soon as i tried it on notepad++ it worked. not sure why as they looked the same to me in notepad.
     
  11. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Regular notepad uses different characters for spaces and such. Notepad++ doesn't add these in. I remember reading about this when doing hex edits for themeing. You have to use notepad++ or it effs up the hex color.
    I digress...
     
    frenchy714 and ocnbrze like this.
  12. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    I had no problems copying from the DOS window into the Beta Key Text Box. I didn't have to use third party programs wonder why it worked for me
     
  13. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    have to know how to do it, to start with, not something most people do every day.

    What was it, right click on the little box in corner and select edit, or something like that?
     
  14. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    yeah right click the title bar and choose edit copy
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  15. fifidaddy

    fifidaddy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    69
    28
    23
    This was the way that worked for me, then I got the invalid beta Key error over and over again, but then I figured out with the help from ocn was to delete revolutionary redownload revolutionary and then try it again and it worked perfectly had to do the same with the wife's phone too... Just my 2 cents
     
    ocnbrze and mikem0269 like this.
  16. lubberlick

    lubberlick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    244
    138
    68
    American English Speaking Taxi Guy
    Indianapolis
    at some point they updated the software for rooting and made it so that the keys created would not work on the older version of the software. They did not however make it very intuitive to realize this happened. My suggestion is that whenever you try to root redownload the software from thier website again...
     
  17. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Ok this is just a shot in the dark, but are you 100% sure you're inputting the right number? If you remove your battery it's the number with S/N by it. Watch out for O, 0 or other differences like that. When I copied mine, I had some characters that were hard to tell which one it was, so I copied it into word and changed the font so I was sure I was entering the exact serial number. Also, make sure you enable USB debugging and have your phone in "charge only" mode and not hooked up as storage. Are you using PC or mac? I don't think Macs are supported are they?
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...