1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Winamp for Android

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by doomedromance, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    Just released beta version of Winamp for android.
    Winamp for Android: Now in Beta - Winamp Blog

    Winamp, the Ultimate Media Player, is now available in beta on AndroidTM (Android 2.1 OS and above). It offers a complete media management solution by seamlessly syncing with the Winamp desktop library. In addition to high quality playback and persistent player controls, Winamp for Android offers wireless desktop sync with your Winamp desktop application (Winamp 5.59 beta required). Standard USB syncing also available.


    Mobilize Your Library
    A complete Android media management solution, that seamlessly syncs with your Winamp desktop library (USB or Wi-Fi).

    Wireless Desktop Sync
    No need to tie your Android phone down. Enable Wi-Fi sync and leave your cable behind (Winamp 5.59 beta required).

    Persistent Player Controls
    Quickly pause, change tracks, manage your play queue, see what's playing and access the Winamp home screen.

    Play Queue Management
    The play queue is a temporary track listing that allows you to easily select and sort tracks. And if you like, save it as a playlist.

    Widget Players & Shortcuts
    Add playlist shortcuts and the widget player to the Android home screen. As well as enable playback control from the lock-screen.

    Now Playing
    Displays song info, album art and more. Press and hold on the song info to interact with other apps like Pandora, YouTube and the Amazon MP3 Store.

    Scrobbling
    Supports scrobbling with the Last.fm app installed (on your Android device). Capturing all of your mobile listening history in real time.









    What You'll Need To Do:

    - Download & install the beta version of the Winamp desktop application from the Winamp forums.

    - From your Android phone, download & install the beta version of the Winamp for Android app. You can either scan the below QR code with your phone or search for Winamp in the Android Market.
    [​IMG]



    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

    marvinrock likes this.
  2. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    Seems pretty good so far. I just downloaded it. Looks to be the best player. The now playing album window will slide down to reveal the current playlist. It has syncing with winamp. Haven't tried it but I do use winamp. I hate what iTunes has become, haven't used it since Genius was first implemented.

    Just connected my winamp through wifi. currently transfering new music to my phone over wifi. Works just like when you normally hook up devices with usb. About 10-15 secs per song to transfer.


    Lazik allows you to view and control your winamp library on your computer. Very nice UI. Hopefully Nullsoft adds this natively to the Winamp for Android. Till then, Lazik is awesome. Paid version allows controls over 3G and no ad banner while browsing library/playlists.
     
  3. marvinrock

    marvinrock Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    127
    9
    56
    USMC
    playing now, will tinker w/ xfer when i get home - already like it quite a bit, I've been using Winamp since ver 2.something
     
  4. Cilraaz

    Cilraaz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    156
    19
    38
    I know it's just beta, but I would think a company as big as WinAmp would have included more than just a 2x4 widget. I just cleaned up my home screens (Multicon, yay!) and condensed them from 7 screens to 3 screens. I really don't want to add another just for WinAmp. If I could replace my cubed 2x2 widget, maybe, but 2x4 is a bunch of screen real estate for a single app.
     
  5. marvinrock

    marvinrock Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    127
    9
    56
    USMC
    agreed the widget is pretty large, I just wanted a 1x4 for player controls. I can wait though. The wireless sync works fantastically!
     
  6. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    840
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    840
    63
    78
    Student
    Philadelphia, PA
    just found my new music player!!! liking the UI!
     
  7. cujo2344

    cujo2344 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Winamp has been great for me.

    A better widget would be nice and the ability to quit from anywhere in the program would be nice as well. Right now you have to be in the "home" page of the app to bring up a quit button in the settings.
     
  8. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    I used 4x2 Music Mod widget. But I agree they could add more widgets. And especially add transparancy. The right side is too blank, and barren when you're songs and artist are one word. I'd like the Album art to be bigger too.


    Just found Lazik last night. Allows you to view and control your winamp library on your computer. Very nice UI. Hopefully Nullsoft adds this natively to the Winamp for Android. Till then, Lazik is awesome. Paid version allows controls over 3G and no ad banner while browsing library/playlists.
     
  9. JDunc

    JDunc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    416
    37
    43
    Image Processor
    Arkansas
    How do we control sync with our phones? I checked wireless sync but can't figure out how to play or transfer songs to my phone.
     
  10. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    When connected it will show under "Devices" and it works just like when connecting a pmp or your phone using usb connection.

    Did you install the winamp plug-in on your computer?
     
  11. iavswn

    iavswn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010

    Sep 29, 2010
    103
    2
    36
    Pretty cool. I'm going to have to give it a try.
     
  12. wrt81

    wrt81 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Ok so I just installed winamp for my incredible and maybe I'm ******ed but I can't figure out how to add songs and get them to play. I have MP#'s store on my phone and can play them fine via the stock players. What the heck am I doing wrong. When I go to the playlist area I don't see any options to add a song.
     
  13. Napalm

    Napalm Android Expert
    Rank:
     #188
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    948
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    948
    100
    123
    Aircraft Engineer
    Memphis, TN
    Do you all still like this even without a equalizer?

    I actually like the stock player on the DX, sounds better than most. Pretty graphics not withstanding.

    However I use winamp on my home computer, for all music and streamed to the living room. So I suspect I will be using winamp soon on my DX.
     
  14. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Generally, I don't LIKE to use a equalizer if I don't have to.
     
  15. NileGuy

    NileGuy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    I love it, but I hate that I cant use wifi sync with my mac cause Winamp is windows based only! :(
     
  16. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,469
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,469
    11,837
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Is this barcode still valid and is Winamp for Android still available? I'm getting 'No results found.'
     
  17. marvinrock

    marvinrock Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    127
    9
    56
    USMC
    Winamp - There's the market link
     
    mikedt likes this.
  18. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,469
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,469
    11,837
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    ^^^^^^

    Thanks, I see now why it wasn't showing originally:

    '此应用程序与您的China Mobile Samsung GT-I9000不兼容。' (This application is not compatible with your China Mobile Samsung GT-I9000.)
     
  19. seanpr123

    seanpr123 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    54
    8
    36
    Hey guys, I got my first Android device and went straight to Winamp as that's what I use on my desktop, but I'm noticing one issue with it. Under my task manager (Galaxy S2 AT&T) I see the Winamp cpu utilization jumping between 2-12% at ALL times. What's up with that?
    To insure it wasn't just a normal occurrence, I installed doubleTwist and I barely ever see that go above 1%!

    Could somebody test and let me know what they're seeing?
     
  20. seanpr123

    seanpr123 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    54
    8
    36
    Any thoughts on that I'm seeing guys? Would that increased CPU mean reduced battery life?
     
  21. jgreetham

    jgreetham Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    202
    19
    58
    I used WinAmp for a long time. I never looked at the CPU usage but it does run a MediaPlaybackService. Not sure what it does but I have noticed several times that if I'm browsing some photos and delete one which causes the media scanner to run, then sometimes WinAmp will start playing by itself.

    I say "used" since I quit using WinAmp recently. It quit remembering its place in the mp3 I was listening to. And I listen to lots of audio books so keeping its place is really important.
     
  22. jikhead

    jikhead Android Expert
    Rank:
     #191
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    784
    181
    123
    Winamp used to be my default player but I've switched and been trying to decide with PlayerPro or PowerAmp. Both are good and have more features and better interface than Winamp.
     

Share This Page

Loading...