1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [WIP] BootBuddy, Shell Scripts, and Beyond!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DNRDustin, Apr 11, 2014.

  1. codyedmonson

    codyedmonson Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    599
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013

    Sep 10, 2013
    599
    194
    133
    Male
    Senior In highschool
    Texas

    Advertisement

  2. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
  3. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    Super easy to set up, good instructions and support. Go for it!
     
  4. codyedmonson

    codyedmonson Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    599
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013

    Sep 10, 2013
    599
    194
    133
    Male
    Senior In highschool
    Texas
    Have you tried it? I'm a little nervous about set up and the threads op is a little messy and confusing for me to understand, I don't know weather I need to throw the script into boot buddy folder or to run it through smanager, could you clear some of the confusion up please?

    Also, is there much of a risk running this script?
     
  5. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    Run the latest sh.pdf in sManager with su permission and it will hold your hand all the way through setup. It's amazingly safe and simple. The supercharger thread covers everything. If there's any confusion, it should be addressed over there.
     
  6. bijinchan

    bijinchan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014

    May 20, 2014
    1
    2
    6
    I ran the Quadrant Standard benchmarking app right after a fresh boot before and after applying the battery_boot, ram_boost, fierce_tweaker_boot, and loopy scripts. Unfortunately it seems there was a marked decrease in the I/O and 3D rendering scores with the scripts. Anyone care to try on their phone to compare results?
     

    Attached Files:

    rone3 and DNRDustin like this.
  7. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    You can set the value of
    [ -f "$i/read_ahead_kb" ] && echo "2048" > $i/read_ahead_kb
    and
    [ -f "$i/nr_requests" ] && echo "2048" > $i/nr_requests
    to 4096.
    I was getting IO scores above 5000 with that value.
    You may notice a large score variation regardless of whether those scripts have been run or not though. I get anything between 4600 and 4900 overall scores.
     
    rone3 likes this.
  8. rone3

    rone3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013

    Aug 24, 2013
    45
    2
    36
    Can I get a step by step?
     
  9. codyedmonson

    codyedmonson Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    599
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013

    Sep 10, 2013
    599
    194
    133
    Male
    Senior In highschool
    Texas
    I just used andromizer to change it temporarily to perform a quadrant standard. Along with other tweaks from that app and setting the CPU to performance mode. Here are the results


    EDIT: After a few more tweaks I got the score up to 5023
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Sepero

    Sepero Linux Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    963
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    963
    594
    163
    It's August, how come I was never told about this thread? :)

    Glad to see you guys getting some fun out of Bootbuddy. I have made some modifications to Bootbuddy to hopefully allow it to work with many more devices. Cheers
     
    jr223 and viperdink like this.
  11. jir127

    jir127 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013

    Jul 12, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    You can I activate 3G/4G data using other carrier sim card, only 2g for now
     
  12. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Rank:
     #74
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,093
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,093
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    Go on the internet and find carriers in your area and check their coverage maps. Then goto ebay and purchase an unlock code for your phone. They'll email you a method and a code of how' to do it. You tube has probly a few videos on the subject. It should only cost a few bucks. Then since your on ebay purchase a sim card for the carrier you want. When you get done all this and the new sim installed, call the carrier you chose and they'll walk you through it. Good luck.
     

Share This Page

Loading...