1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wipe Data Question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rjs987, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. rjs987

    rjs987 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    18
    2
    16
    I have wiped data/cache/delvik 3x each in clockworkmod recovery and then flashed a new rom. However, when the new rom boots up it still has my old background and remembers my wifi password. Does this mean it's not wiping my system fully? Am i doing something wrong?
     

    Advertisement

  2. cultldr

    cultldr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    307
    63
    53
    Houston, TX
    Google does some backup/restore as you activate your account if you choose to do so. I know it does wifi password and a friend actually changed devices from an OG droid to an X and the wallpaper came across so I would assume it will do that for you as well. I never use the Google features but I would think this is working as intended.
     
  3. rjs987

    rjs987 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    18
    2
    16
    ok thx
     
  4. someotherguy

    someotherguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    154
    22
    38
    When you are working with SBF's (or maderstock) and want to be completely clean (especially if you are just going to bootstrap and install a rom and wipe again)

    When it asks you to sign-in to your google account with username / password.

    Hit the menu button. Click disable sync. Then login.

    That option is on the next screen with the Gb build though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...