1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wipe Phone Does it Wipe Market?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Toyzruskid1976, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. Toyzruskid1976

    Toyzruskid1976 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    122
    2
    36
    Business Analyst
    Dayton, OH
    If I wipe my phone, will the market still show the applications I downloaded in the past? I know before I could use the market I had to connect it to my gmail account.. wasn't sure if my download list was tied to my Gmail account or not.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Roman G.

    Roman G. No-Posting Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    539
    261
    113
    Oregon
    Yes your download list is tied in with your gmail account, wipe away!
     
  3. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    Not always. If you flash something like the 1.6+ ROM's, you'll lose your download history, even when you come back to a 1.5 ROM.

    I suggest using Titanium Backup to backup all your apps, just in case :)
     
  4. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,059
    200
    163
    Software Developer
    Kent, UK
    Your paid apps are linked to your Gmail account, so if you have purchased an app you should be able to download it if you wipe the phone. The free apps aren't normally stored, so I would make a note of which ones you have
     
  5. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    There we go. That's what I was looking for but couldn't think of it to explain it that way :D
     
  6. Toyzruskid1976

    Toyzruskid1976 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    122
    2
    36
    Business Analyst
    Dayton, OH

    I take it the paid version of Titanium Backup runs a lot faster and you fully batch the backup? If so then I'll probably pay for the full version.
     
  7. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    No idea. I just use the free version, and it backed everything up...until I deleted the backup lol
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...