1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wipe Samsung Galaxy with broken unresponsive screen

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by HannahPoppy11, Aug 15, 2014.

  1. HannahPoppy11

    HannahPoppy11 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014

    Aug 15, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Hi,
    I have two andriod phones that I need to be able to wipe clean, ie: personal data, account log in details, pictures of my daughter.
    I have a Samsung Galaxy S4 & S3, both have broken screens.

    The S3 I have no idea what is wrong with the screen, it just went black and has stayed that way. I believe the screen is still responsive as I can hear the water sound when I swipe the screen.
    The S4 I believe the LCD has broken. Again, the screen is completely black. I dropped this phone as so it has a crack in the top right hand corner. Unable to hear any sounds when I swipe etc on the screen.

    I have tried connecting the phones to the computer via usb and use Samsung Kies, the S3 connects but it says there is no pictures etc on the phone when I know there is. The S4 just doesn't connect at all.
    Also tried programs like MyMobiler and MoboRobo with no luck. I believe the phones aren't debugged

    Also if I have signed into my Google Account on another Andriod device would I still be signed in on the S3 & S4?

    any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. John Bean

    John Bean Happy Wanderer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,251
    458
    163
    Male
    Waterfoot, Lancashire
    Hi HannahPoppy11, welcome to Android Forums :)

    I'm sorry to hear of your phone problems, but with any luck there is an easy way to erase the faulty phones. Log into the Play Store on a PC, click on the "gear wheel" settings icon (top right of screen) and select "Android Device Manager".

    From there you should be able to erase the contents of the faulty phone(s). If they're not turned on they will still be erased as soon as they powered on and connect to a network.
     
    codesplice and argedion like this.
  3. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    853
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,290
    853
    The Infernal Swamp
    One possible other solution for this depends on if you can use Fastboot on the device but a simple fastboot command will also erase all user data. While It may not help the OP for others who may need to do so if you can get the device into the fastboot mode then you can simply type
    fastboot -w
    at your computer command prompt and this will erase all user data.
     
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Samsung Devices don't have access to fastboot unfortunately. He'd have to flash a factory image through Odin in order to achieve the same effect.
     
    argedion and codesplice like this.
  5. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,243
    Posts:
    11,704
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,704
    4,845
    1,243
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I don't have these phones ... I have three different Motorola phones. This remote wipe will not work on any of them unless the wipe had been pre-authorized from the phone.

    For this reason I always recommend that when a new phone is being setup the owner do the pre-authorization so a remote wipe can be done if it is needed.

    I assume it has not been pre-authorized for these phones since the question is being asked.

    Is the authorization process different for the Samsung Galaxy S3 and Samsung Galaxy S4?

    ... Thom
     

Share This Page

Loading...