1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wired tether and XP SP2 with droid

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by -=Jeff=-, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    wireless tether works with NexBeast 1.1 and wired tether works on my work laptop, but it will nto connect on my new little netbook. any suggestions on what to try. I have reinstalled the moto drivers a few times, any other suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Jeff, you using the Moto Drivers version 4.6?
     
  3. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    no 4.2 need to update. got the driver working now the phone locks up and reboots.

    I will install 4.6 got a link?
     
  4. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    found it !!!
     
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Keep us posted - also, what sort of AV software are you running, and firewall, 'cause it could be one of those is interfering with the process for some odd reason....
     
  6. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    Moto 4.6 installed still causes droid to reboot after the drivers are installed. not sure why I am having issues with wired tether. same NexBeast worked on Thursday with my work laptop. might be the dell a90.

    wireless is working good, buyt wired would be nice too..
     
  7. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    AVG FREE and OEM firewall.

    since wireless works with XP, I should be good, plan for the netbook is Win 7

    need the XP install for my car tuning software.

    just waiting for my new SSD for the netbook
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Kewl. I run Win 7 on all my machines, refuse to use XP anymore. Sorry that your Car tuning software forces you to use XP - have you tried Compatibility modes in Windows 7? For example, even if you have XP SP2 installed, sometimes you need to set the compatibility to just XP (no SP listed) to make it work....

    SSDs rock - I bought the Intel X25-M 80 GB for my desktop - apps fly, my reboot time (not boot from cold start - reboot from inside the OS) has shaved 20+ seconds off the time, and Now I get to use both of my 500GB Barracudas as storage....

    Life's good....
     
  9. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    niot sure I tried it. I know it will not install on win 7.

    Once I get the SSD ( current is an 8gig) I can try. I am camping this weekend and the only way to connect is this little laptop and my droid
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Hmmm, if it will not install on Win 7 - must either have a driver that it uses to control the tuning, or else something else that is really weird....

    Ah, well. Win 7 comes with the XP Mode feature, but I am not sure that will be easy to use on a netbook.
     
  11. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    yeah that might work and I will try it. The tuning software I can upgrade but then I lose functionality, right now I can do multiple cars, newer is one car only.
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Ahhh - now it makes more sense.

    Another thing to think about is that you can actually run the installer itself with XP compatibility to get the app installed....
     
  13. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Lol, *I* certainly didn't b/c I haven't used XP in ... OK, I use it at work when fixing the professor's machines, but that is not really "using" it - so I haven't used it myself in ... about 5 years now.

    Makes perfect sense that remote NDIS is not included with XP - hell, nothing was included with XP except XP....
     
  15. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    Yes I did, but I don't have an account for that link. I found the RDIS drivers in a post on xda-dev. after I installed those is when the phone would just reboot. It seemed to install everything correctly on the XP side. not sure what else to try. The phone looked as into work but froze and rebooted.
     
  16. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    If you used Remote NDIS based Internet Sharing Device Driver - xda-developers for the link to the drivers....

    1. - meaning it was there 1 year before the DROID came out...
    2. the instructions refer to
      - which our phones cannot do.

    My guess is that those drivers simply will not work for our DROIDs....

    The rNDIS drivers should work with XP and then you should be set with a normal DROID install.
     
  17. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Attached are the Remote NDIS based Internet Sharing Device drivers from my link. Try them ... they worked for me.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Hmm, based upon the CRC comparison of the files in the .ZIP archive that you just linked and the ones from XDA, they're identical.

    He just needs to not install the Phone files that the XDA post references and then he'll be fine.
     
  19. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    Downloaded the drivers for Messenger's link. will try later today
     
  20. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    which phone files do I not need? Tried the Zip drivers from Messenger.. finishes installing the drivers on XP while Wired Tether is running and then boom, reboot on Droid..
     
  21. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    That files that Joe posted should be all that you need, in addition to the Motorola USB drivers for XP also.

    You should not have to install anything on the DROID, in terms of drivers.
     
  22. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling that .apk on your DROID?
    Maybe one of us should post it so you can try a different .apk file.
     
  23. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    have not done that but it works on/with my work laptop
     
  24. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    When you connect the DROID to the netbook, does XP send a popup complaining about the SDCard needs to be checked for consistency errors when mounting?
     
  25. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    No, have not seen that yet
     

Share This Page

Loading...