1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wireless Hotspot on Froyo w/o Custom Rom?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bertpbno1, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. bertpbno1

    bertpbno1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Apologies in advance for the post; I'm sure this has been answered somewhere before, I'm just having a hard time finding it.

    I have a Droid running the recent Froyo update. I'm wondering if there is a way to root my phone and do something (install an app?) that will allow me to use the phone as a wifi hotspot without installing a custom rom? I'm not a super adventurous user (mostly concerned about speed/stability); I would just like to utilize this feature if possible.

    If it isn't possible to do this without installing a custom rom, is there a rom available that makes minimal changes to the standard OS just to enable a few missing features like tethering and wifi hotspot?

    Thanks for the help, and again, sorry if this is posted somewhere and I just didn't see it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. trav473

    trav473 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    689
    134
    113
  3. blong4life

    blong4life Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    19
    0
    35
    Automotive Technician
    Massachusetts
    Now if I did that (sorry for the thread hijacking), would the wifi hotspot feature be free (As in, no monthly fee)?
     
  4. trav473

    trav473 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    689
    134
    113
    well......, there would be no charge by doing it this way, but if you tether a lot this way, verizon could get on to you about because you are technically violating your contract.
     
  5. blong4life

    blong4life Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    19
    0
    35
    Automotive Technician
    Massachusetts
    One last thing, if I have a hardware problem like a something goes wrong with the screen and I have the rooted phone would they beable to tell, or can you un-root it before you go to them?

    Because my screen is very loose on the track, I think it'd be a warranty issue.
     
  6. darkside

    darkside Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    271
    30
    63
    Good Ol' Colorado
    If you root, you can always go back to stock without root. There are lots of threads about how to unroot.
     
  7. blong4life

    blong4life Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    19
    0
    35
    Automotive Technician
    Massachusetts
    Ok great and would going back to un-root be good enough for a warranty claim for a non-software issue, or would they know?
     
  8. darkside

    darkside Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    271
    30
    63
    Good Ol' Colorado
    Once you unroot, as far as my understanding, there is no way they will be able to tell
     
  9. blong4life

    blong4life Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    19
    0
    35
    Automotive Technician
    Massachusetts
    Ok thanks, I am going to try that link above see what happens.
     
  10. darkside

    darkside Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    271
    30
    63
    Good Ol' Colorado

Share This Page

Loading...