1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wireless Teathering Security?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iowabowtech, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    So...now that rooters are teathering wirelessly, I see an option for WEP in the teathering app. Seems like a good idea. Any thoughts on this and other options in the program? I guess I'm wanting to discuss a best case setup regarding all the menu options.
     

    Advertisement

  2. patkicks10

    patkicks10 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    140
    9
    36
    Sorry to ask question in your thread.. but i cant get anything to actually connect to my wireless tether... iphone says it connects but on app itself it says nothing is connected!

    nvm got it :)
     
  3. Hanneman1011

    Hanneman1011 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    119
    14
    38
    Sucks
    Bloomington, IN
    The best case would be to set up WPA2 Enterprise Security, But that is not possible. I have it set up on mine, Just so I dont have everybody and there uncle wanting to use my bandwidth.
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    That's kinda what I was thinking. I'm guessing it's less of a security issue (hack-wise) as it is a bandwidth protector.
     
  5. Hanneman1011

    Hanneman1011 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    119
    14
    38
    Sucks
    Bloomington, IN
    I mean it will be sad when somebody is trying to hack a wireless network like that. But just for average joe who finds it, I want to keep them out.
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Yeah, there may be some wisdom in changing the name from Android Teather too. That screams free ride. I'm afraid I'll forget a 13 character password though. :D

    Prior to switching to WPA2, I used a 10 digit WEP key and used my cell phone number so I'd never forget it.
     
  7. Hanneman1011

    Hanneman1011 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    119
    14
    38
    Sucks
    Bloomington, IN
    I have hacked my neighbors networks using WEP in about 45 on average. WPA2 Enterprise take something 125 years. I don't have that much time. If we could change the name that would be sweeet.
     
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Open Wireless Teather, Menu > Setup > Change SSID.
     
    Hanneman1011 likes this.
  9. Hanneman1011

    Hanneman1011 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    119
    14
    38
    Sucks
    Bloomington, IN
    Well you know it me if you find one that says "F&^K YOU"
     
  10. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    lmao. :d
     
  11. answerman

    answerman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    285
    46
    63
    Appleton, WI
    I thought (don't have it in front of me so I can't check) that you could disable the SSID broadcast, like you can on most routers. If so, that's an easy and quick security feature.

    And obviously, change the SSID. That's the very first thing you do with any WiFi router, and your Inc should be no exception. I laugh when I see a network named "linksys" show up under available connections, and I know even without trying that if I browse to 192.168.1.1 I can enter "admin" for both the username and password and be into their admin setup. Not that I would ever do that.
     
  12. Hanneman1011

    Hanneman1011 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    119
    14
    38
    Sucks
    Bloomington, IN
    You may not but i would.... Its fun to lock people out of there router and make it so they cant log on to it. tehe tehe.:D
     
  13. answerman

    answerman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    285
    46
    63
    Appleton, WI
    :D Yeah, people don't even read the instructions any more. They connect the router, plug it in, and it works... and they are happy. Never actually finish the setup. Or they use a password like "1234" or *gasp* "password". Oddly enough, these are the same people that are calling me every couple weeks and saying "hey, I think I got a virus on my computer".

    Heck, the passwords I create (yeah, I'm a network guy) don't even contain any actual words... I just turn my head and randomly type out about 15 characters without even looking. Lowercase, uppercase, numbers, symbols... my passwords look like someone's swearing in a comic strip.
     
  14. Stam2000

    Stam2000 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    48
    5
    36
    Coram, NY
    First thing I did
     
  15. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I used this opportunity to honor those who got me here. My network:

    unrEVOked

    :D
     
  16. Taylored

    Taylored Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    689
    60
    78
    IT Recruiter
    GA
    I just use the option that requires me to approve any connections.
     

Share This Page

Loading...