1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wireless Tether (battery life)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jaffa, May 5, 2010.

  1. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    I realised yesterday, that even though my wireless tether was turned off my laptop was still detecting the network, I have since uninstalled it, will report back on battery consumption
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    930
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    This may be a silly question, but are you sure you didn't just see it as a "remembered" network on your comp?
    Would you consider a (shhh) task killer just to see if wireless tether is running on the phone?
     
  3. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    I use the Force close button, and I checked using Task manager, it was not showing as an active process, when I uninstalled and refreshed the network list on the laptop it was no longer on the list.
     
  4. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    930
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    How about a different wireless tether app?
    I know I'm using a different phone (Eris) but I use Wireless Tether for Root Users, and haven't had this problem (yet).
     
  5. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    I had Barnacle installed, both were not running, and both were showing on my Wifi list on the lappy >.<
     
  6. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    930
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    I am almost out of ideas, but have you checked with any other wireless device to make sure it isn't an issue with the lappy ?
    Ok, I'm out of ideas now.
    Look forward to hearing what info you have on battery consumption.
    (I'll be checking my laptop to see if it sees my phone's tether when I get home in an hour)
     
  7. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton

    Battery is now @ 50%

    Up time 4:17 hrs

    Awake time 2:45

    Cell standby: 47%

    Display: 37%

    Phone idle: 16%

    I dont think thats too bad nearly 9 hours in theory with a 70% display time..
     
  8. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Im at about 15% now

    Up Time: 5:56
    Awake Time: 3:28
    Cell standby: 48%
    Display: 34%
    Phone idle: 18%

    Its not great, but its by no means terrible battery usage:

    Call usage is less than 20 mins..
     
  9. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    930
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    I haven't been following the hero forums much, but is that typical battery life? Seems a little short. Would you consider yourself a heavy user? Wifi, email, maps, gps stuff?
     
  10. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Medium usage, I would say, not sure what my performance would be like on a stock ROM, Im oping others will post thier experiences to compare.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...