1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wireless Tether disconnects after a few minutes.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by avacomputers, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. avacomputers

    avacomputers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    374
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    374
    31
    43
    Computer Tech.
    Has anyone else seen this and is there a fix?
     

    Advertisement

  2. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    I noticed this happening more when I was on Kingx kernels. never had it happen on netarchy. I'm sure other people's experiences are different. The problem is that wireless tether app is still experimental with Evo, and custom kernels aren't exactly guaranteed to work perfectly either.
     
  3. avacomputers

    avacomputers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    374
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    374
    31
    43
    Computer Tech.
    I'm on stock rom. Just rooted.
     
  4. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    if you look at the wifi tether app web site, it says that it requires some kernel modifications:

    So try flashing a netarchy kernel (see my sig) over your stock ROM and see if that helps. I am also running stock ROM w/ netarchy kernel. tether is flawless.
     
  5. avacomputers

    avacomputers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    374
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    374
    31
    43
    Computer Tech.
    I flashed that Kernel and it still disconnects after a few minutes. I have never been able to pass 5 minute mark. Any other suggestions?
     
  6. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    418
    108
    68
  7. Putty

    Putty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    832
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    832
    56
    78
    OH--IO
    Mine broadcasts, but when my PC connects, it says I have internet access...What causes that?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...