1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wireless Tether in Infrastructure Mode?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gblinckmann, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. gblinckmann

    gblinckmann Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    47
    2
    16
    Male
    Albany, NY
    Does anyone know of an app that does wireless tethering in infrastructure mode on the Epic 4G Touch? I've tried tried the normal Wifi Tether for root users program (android-wifi-tether - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting) with no success in infrastructure mode. I'm getting ad-hoc, only.

    Is there another program out there that work our phones, giving infrastructure mode with the stock kernel? Or is this one of those things that people have be replacing the kernels to get?
     

    Advertisement

  2. AzrielD

    AzrielD Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    2
    0
    25
    Don't know if this will help you as I haven't received my epic yet, but on the prevail using the app wifi tethering for rooted users you have to go into setting change device profile for the prevail using the samsung captivate profile works and you should be about to use infrastructure mode instead of ad-hoc.i that doesn't work try other different profiles. the version of wifi tether i'm using is 3.1 beta 6 just google it to download apk. hope this helps.
     
  3. jamesdean

    jamesdean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    633
    80
    78
    gblinckmann likes this.
  4. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    190
    3
    36
    Mechanical Engineer
    Puerto Rico
    Bummer... just got it... nothing yet?
     
  5. jamesdean

    jamesdean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    633
    80
    78
    Nope, you can follow the link above for the latest developments.
     
  6. uminchu

    uminchu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    525
    134
    93
    I run Calkulin's EG4T 2.6, and Sprint Hotspot is unlocked, works in 3g and 4g, with security and client filtering. Unless I'm missing something or doing something wrong (please correct me if I am), this renders the issues with the Wifi Tether app irrelevant.
     
  7. drearyfela

    drearyfela Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    i have calkulins e4gt 2.81 and my hotspot is unlocked but i dont get 4g tethering :(

    anyone know why?
     
  8. huntm856

    huntm856 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010

    Oct 4, 2010
    22
    15
    38
    Pharma QA/Regulatory specialist
    South Jersey

Share This Page

Loading...