1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wireless tether is the most amazing thing in years

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LxMxFxD, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. LxMxFxD

    LxMxFxD Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    256
    42
    43
    LAN poker with the girlfriend on her ipod while on the train or otherwise = ill.

    Real question: ANyone got a good NUMBER I should keep the data transfer under per month to keep sprint from caring?

    Also.. whats the worst case with sprint if they find out anyway.. besides being charged like an aircard fee?
     

    Advertisement

  2. revtime

    revtime Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    173
    7
    36
    Theoretically they could cancel your service and charge you per KB. Thats worst case.
    I have yet to hear of Sprint canceling anyone's service due to data useage.
    That doesnt mean it hasn't happened though.
     
  3. boomhower

    boomhower Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    69
    0
    15
    North Carolina
    Keep it under 5GB's and you should be fine. I agree, I love it as well. I use it at work all the time when I can't find a wifi hotspot. I also have commandeered my wifes ipod touch and tether to it all the time.
     
  4. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    I've heard of people using 7 gigs in a month and not being charged or contacted by Sprint.
     
  5. twondog22

    twondog22 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    And exactly how do u do this wireless tether thing...if there's already a a thread a link will do... thanks
     
  6. thefley

    thefley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #340
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    346
    26
    63
    Oklahoma
    While on a trip, I used over 23 gig to watch movies and shows online and downloads and they never said a thing. I am on the unlimited plan
     
  7. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,135
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,135
    3,790
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    ive been tethering wirelessly for years. if you are a premier customer you should be OK. if you have a month or two of huge data usage, sprint should not flinch. if you continue to use large data chunks month after month they will take notice.
     
  8. iadubber

    iadubber Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    You need to be rooted.
     
  9. bmwboyee

    bmwboyee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    133
    2
    36
    TX
    only problem i have is it EATS your battery. I had it plugged in USB to my laptop and the laptop was plugged into the wall and the battery drained faster than it could charge. Even plugged into the wall, it would still not charge fast enough. only complaint though.
     
  10. sprucebeach

    sprucebeach Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    73
    1
    16
    For wireless tethering on a Hero right now, yes. But PdaNet lets you tether a non-rooted Hero over USB cable for free and when the Hero gets Android 2.1 PdaNet will let you Bluetooth tether also.
     
  11. bmwboyee

    bmwboyee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    133
    2
    36
    TX
    that's the KEY word.
     
  12. sprucebeach

    sprucebeach Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    73
    1
    16
    Sure, but for me Bluetooth tethering is overrated anyway. With my Samsung M610 I thought it was cool to turn on my laptop and have the internet there just because I had my phone in my pocket. Now with my Hero and PdaNet I think it's cool to have much faster USB connect speeds and the little cable connecting my laptop to the phone in my pocket. :)
     
  13. bmwboyee

    bmwboyee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    133
    2
    36
    TX
    really? I pulled 3.2 mbps with the wifi tethering.
     
  14. sprucebeach

    sprucebeach Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    73
    1
    16
    I'm not sure what you mean by "wi-fi tethering." Are you talking about Bluetooth tethering of a computer to a phone with a wi-fi connection? In my location I seldom reach 1 mbps with the phone itself. In any case your 3.2 mbps is pretty fast. My understanding is that the Hero has Bluetooth 2.0 with EDR, which supposedly has a maximum speed around 3 mbps and a practical maximum around 2 mbps.

    It could be that my slow BT tether with my M610 was due to some phone limitation or the way I had to treat it as a modem rather than the Bluetooth medium itself. My dismissing Bluetooth tethering may have been premature. I'll let you know just as soon as 2.1 gets here. ;)
     
  15. TheAndroidWorks

    TheAndroidWorks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    269
    27
    43
    Android Developer
    Nashville
    Speed differences aside, power consumption is the predominant issue with these newer phones which are pushing many more electronics around... bluetooth tether should be significantly lower on battery draw.

    On a side note: BT tether has been performed by treo 650 users on sprint for the past 5 years (assuming they knew about shadowmites' dial up networking hack that he uncovered before palm/sprint released the BT DUN option in one of the earlier updates) ...only difference is that the hero should be good for about 10 times the bandwidth! :)
     
  16. bmwboyee

    bmwboyee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    133
    2
    36
    TX
    You have the bluetooth option and then you have the wifi options. the wifi option basically makes your phone a wireless router.

     
  17. sprucebeach

    sprucebeach Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    73
    1
    16
    Sorry, I'm still confused about "wi-fi tethering." Obviously if I have my ISP connected to a wireless router my phone can receive the internet connection from that router by wi-fi. With BT or USB tethering the phone could then share that connection with, say, a laptop, although there wouldn't be much point since most laptops have their own wi-fi and can connect directly to the wireless router instead of going through the phone.

    But are you saying that it's possible to tether via wi-fi? In other words, that I can share the phone's own EV-DO connection with a laptop that has wi-fi? If so, I didn't know that. If not then I still don't know what you mean by "wi-fi tethering."
     
  18. flammenwurfer

    flammenwurfer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    172
    4
    36
    Yes, sprucebeach. That is what they are talking about. When you are away from a wifi hotspot/router you can share phone's 3G connection with a laptop via the phone's wifi capabilities. You have to have a rooted phone for it to work though.
     
  19. sprucebeach

    sprucebeach Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    73
    1
    16
    Ah, thanks flammenwurfer. I had no idea. Is this likely to always require rooting or might it be available with a higher Android version? And does it require an app?
     
  20. flammenwurfer

    flammenwurfer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    172
    4
    36
    Yes, I think it will most likely always require rooting. It's not likely that the carriers will officially support it any time soon, because they don't really want you using your 3G service on a regular computer. They want you to buy one of their 3g usb adapters and a 2nd data plan instead.

    It requires an app called "Wifi-Tether" which is very easy to use.
     
  21. bmwboyee

    bmwboyee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    133
    2
    36
    TX
    Sorry I did not clarify that I was root'd. it is in my sig but yeah, that is exactly what i was talking about (flammenwurfer's explanation). The wifi tether works great.

    What is REALLY funny, I was in the airport yesterday and had my wifi tether on and a guy sat near me and then I saw him open his laptop and try to connect to my wifi. I looked over at him and said, "Sir, if you would like to share my 3g connection that will be $5". he gave me a funny look and shut his laptop back down.
     
  22. golpher

    golpher Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    37
    0
    15
    Awesome!!! Manually rooted the phone then installed PDAnet and the USB tether is ZOOMIN!!

    I'm in a metal building with like one bar on the 1xx network and its quick so I can't imagine once I have a solid 3g connection will be like!!

    Was gonna try the BT but I dont have 2.1 installed yet,,, any other options to bypass this speedbump??
     
  23. bmwboyee

    bmwboyee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    133
    2
    36
    TX
    If you are rooted there is no need for a usb. you can create a wifi connection and secure that or you can use bluetooth to connect.
     
  24. golpher

    golpher Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    37
    0
    15
    :D Wouldnt happen to have a link would ya? I did a Google search "create wifi connection htc hero" and didnt get much,, one blog had a guide thru cmd prompt but i didnt get the link off here so I dont trust it yet ;)
     
  25. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    6,184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    6,184
    5,047
    923
    Male
    Database Programmer, Sprint Advocate
    Queens, NY
    Strange, I can't seem to find this app. Either thru the Market or in the AndroLib database.
    I've been using my 3g/4g modem but I would like a fall back option which is why I have pdanet, but for some reason having been able to get it to work since I rooted.
    Anyone know where the wifi-Tether can be found.

    TS out
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...