1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wireless Tether Issue with Evo

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iflyhi22002, Oct 8, 2010.

  1. iflyhi22002

    iflyhi22002 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Kansas City
    Would changing the channel or version help with the getting the actual connection? I finally got the laptop and phone to establish a connection, but I get a triangle with an exclamation point telling me the DNS Server is unavailable. I have the newest version of wireless tether 2_0_5_-pre10, on channel 6, the LAN selected is 192.168.2.0/24and am running Win 7. I can't open a webpage even though it shows connected. When I switch back to my home Wi-Fi everything is fine. I used Unrevoked3. Any help is appreciated. I did check other threads and haven't seen the same issue.
     

    Advertisement

  2. xtravbx

    xtravbx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    103
    10
    38
    Do you have static IP / DNS settings on your PC?
     
  3. tmwilsoniv

    tmwilsoniv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    152
    12
    48
    Try another version before you start playing with settings and channels. I tried a couple of versions before I found one that would do more than just make a connection... as you describe. I can't remember if it's Pre-7 or Pre-8, but it works like a champ.
     
    iflyhi22002 likes this.
  4. archercc

    archercc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    432
    68
    53
    Ive stuck with Pre9 because Im getting 80% the speed of the phones connection itself and its been very reliable for me.
     
  5. sEA

    sEA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    44
    12
    18
    Farm
    Illinois
    Are you using a custom ROM? Sometimes that can make a difference, too. I'm using Fresh 3.2 with pre8, and my wife's EVO is on Fresh 3.3 with pre9. I know this doesn't tell you a whole lot, but sometimes every little bit of info helps.
     
  6. iflyhi22002

    iflyhi22002 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Kansas City
    No I'm using everything stock-I just used Unrevoked to gain root access, but I haven't changed anything else. I'll try a couple of the other ones tonight.
     
  7. iflyhi22002

    iflyhi22002 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Kansas City
    Well changing the verison to 7 worked just fine-I didn't really test the speeds or to see if 8 worked better-I just saw the connection, got a page to load and called it good. I'll play with it more this weekend if I get time and report what I find out. Thanks for the tips!

    Update-changed to 8 and it's working better. First speedtest-1668 kbps Download, 728 kbps-that's on 3G. Honestly it's like I'm connected to my wi-fi at home. Can't complain at all.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...