1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wireless Tether on GB.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stonehenge1861, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. SlvrScoobie

    SlvrScoobie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    393
    11
    38
    Tis a shame, but i guess from their POV, theyre loosing thousands of dollars every month from this. Now obviously most of us would just surf on the phone than pay the ridiculous fees to do so. but look at what happened over at AT&T w/ ipad and iphone tethering
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kevmueller

    Kevmueller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    766
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    766
    145
    93
    Kansas City
    I can confirm that the TBH tethering fix along with WiFi Tether does work. Before trying the TBH tethering fix it would not work and I would get the verizon mobile hotspot signup screen.

    So it does sound like there is still a work around that the developers will be able to use.
     
  3. funkbucket007

    funkbucket007 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    86
    19
    18
    Male
    Firefighter
    Clarksville, Tennessee
    And how does one get said fix? Do I need to DL the TBH app?
     
  4. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    The patch is in the TBH app, down near the bottom, 3G HotSpot Patcher.

    [​IMG]
     
    funkbucket007 likes this.
  5. Stone

    Stone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    105
    13
    58
    TBH patch works for me as well with Wireless Tether app.
     
  6. Kevmueller

    Kevmueller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    766
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    766
    145
    93
    Kansas City
    I used the tether patch that was further up and it worked fine. I downloaded both and tried the tether patch first and it worked so I did not apply the 3G HotSpot Patcher.
     
  7. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    lol...I took a pic of the wrong thing and the tether patch isn't even showing up for me, strange.
     
  8. kcrang

    kcrang Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    58
    6
    16
    i applied the hotspot patch and my wifi-tether works like a charm
     
  9. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
    hmmm guess ill be getting TBH app :)
     
  10. faber78

    faber78 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    it worth the cash even before this....^
     
  11. ECFfighter7232

    ECFfighter7232 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    1,493
    336
    163
    Maryland
    so just to clear up directions, I would want to download "3g hotspot patcher (by MC1/CZ)" and install that in CWR?
    then once I install it my "wireless tether for root" app will work like its supposed to work? or will this allow me to use the 3G mobile hotspot app?
     
  12. Kevmueller

    Kevmueller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    766
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    766
    145
    93
    Kansas City
    OK I just went in and looked at the TBH app because I downloaded the DX Tether Patch and installed it though CWR, however I don't see it on there anymore, and I did this just yesterday. Then I opened up WiFi Tether, which a link was posted in this thread yesterday. It still goes through the 3G mobile app, but it works and bypasses the Verzion signup.
     
  13. PACAnesFan

    PACAnesFan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    201
    12
    38
    So...as the collective group...are we considering this a temporary fix or is this more permanent? I really don't like the idea of the VZW app floating around somewhere on the system.

    I have a few ideas that I may try. Granted I am a total noob when it comes to coding and will probably brick my phone in the process...
     
  14. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Well I installed the patch, fired up the 3G Hotspot, and...... I guess it worked?

    I mean my computer did connect to it. It said it had a connection. It didn't ask me to sign up for any service like it does when you fire it up and use it normally. But... it was incredibly s l o o o o w w w w w... Unlike 'Wireless Tether for Root Users'. That hotspot was very fast. I dunno what the difference is, or if it was just a flukie connection or something, but I just went right back to my normal connection.

    Luckily I don't really need it right now as I have a solid wifi signal to connect my internet up to where I am. So I'll wait around and see if 'Muller, Lemons, Buxton' releases an update for their app that works. If not, that may be a deal breaker in the long run. Because sooner or later I'll want to use it. But I have faith they'll come up with something. Hell it's only been out two days and look at all the crazy shit they've already figured out with it.
     
  15. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    they aren't gong to just start charging you until you get to the part where you agree to the service terms and cost. Its pretty hard to accidently sign up.
     
  16. k0smo86

    k0smo86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    373
    29
    43
    Software Developer
    Florida
    Now that you have the patch, I would try the experimental version of wifi tether. Works like a charm for me after the TBH patch.
     
  17. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    Now you know why the carriers want the phones locked.
     
  18. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    620
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    620
    49
    88
    Software Professional
    SF Bay Area
    Did you actually get a device to connect and get an internet connection? I tried and although t said it was working and my iPad said it was connected, I got errors trying to get to any webpage as it said it had no internet connection. Mobile Hotspot worked fine and I could navigate without issue, but not with either WiFi tether apps.
     
  19. k0smo86

    k0smo86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    373
    29
    43
    Software Developer
    Florida
    Yes, I've been tethered and using my Xoom all day. It can be hit or miss, I would try a reboot, some people say re-applying the patch helps. I guess I got lucky.
     
    dhoffman1421 likes this.
  20. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    620
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    620
    49
    88
    Software Professional
    SF Bay Area
    Yeah I may try it again, thanks!
     
  21. faber78

    faber78 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    We're all gonna get giant bills!
     
  22. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    A perfect match for our giant balls we've displayed so far.


    :D
     
    apavolka likes this.
  23. faber78

    faber78 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  24. sbursik

    sbursik Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    167
    14
    58
    Weird, I wasn't having any success with this at all. I was connecting but had no internet access. No access when using my default browser Mercury. With any other browser I can. Weird. This is using the Verizon tether with the tether patch.

    Edit: referencing the apps on my iPad while tethered.
     
  25. Raw Dodge

    Raw Dodge Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    192
    12
    38
    After doing all the tricks in this post,Including the 3.0experimental wireless tether,It is working,but the factory hotspot is opening with wireless tether,Im not comfortable with this,I tried renaming hotspot,but as you know,I cannot find it.I dont use a lot of date,less than 2gb a month,I dont feel bad using the tether a few times a month to see something on my laptop thats hard to do on the phone screen,but this really bites..tether WAS untra reliable,and a good stron connection,now its sporadic.I never had any luck with the 3g mobile hotspot from verizon,it wasnt reliable and dropped constantly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...