1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wireless Tether Question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rick2934, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. rick2934

    rick2934 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    19
    2
    16
    Hi guys - I'm having a problem tethering to my laptop that has an Intel(R) Centrino (R) Advanced-N 6200 AGN wireless adapter. I did some research on this and haven't found any resolutions other than the fact that many others have this problem with this wireless card. I have the most up to date drivers. I was hoping some of the android masterminds from the forum have some solution to this issue. Thanks guys!

    Also I heard there was a rumor that there would be some sort of way to get in trouble teethering in froyo. Is there any truth behind this? I'm running superclean 2.2.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. nklenchik

    nklenchik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    590
    53
    78
    Student
    Yew Nork
    What tethering app are you using?
     
  3. rick2934

    rick2934 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    19
    2
    16
    I tried both barnacle and wireless tether. Neither work.
     
  4. nklenchik

    nklenchik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    590
    53
    78
    Student
    Yew Nork
    Have you tried tethering your phone to anything else yet?
     
  5. rick2934

    rick2934 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    19
    2
    16
    Ya it works for my MacBook and my friends ipad
     
  6. nklenchik

    nklenchik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    590
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    590
    53
    78
    Student
    Yew Nork
    Yeah it's definitely the laptop then. I used to have a laptop that needed an adapter because the built in wireless wouldn't connect. Even the adapter sometimes wouldn't connect to certain networks. My two cents...that's probably why it won't tether to that specific computer, it's the adapter.
     
  7. ggt1_02

    ggt1_02 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    144
    18
    58
    Late to the party on this but here is my thought, when I first tried wireless root it didn't work. A reboot of the phone and computer solved this.
     
  8. s44

    s44 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    313
    37
    43
    Try 2.6, the QPST hack, and the 3G Hotspot app.
     
  9. rick2934

    rick2934 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    19
    2
    16
    This may be a dumb question but what is this hack? How is it going to help if my computers wireless just has issues with adhoc connections? Does the hotspot app put out a real wifi signal vs adhoc? I'm already on 2.6 now
     
  10. gthirty6ptime

    gthirty6ptime Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Im having this same problem on my fascinate with the same wireless card. I cant figure out a solution.
     
  11. kujayhawks77

    kujayhawks77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    142
    13
    38
    Conroe, TX
    If you use QPST hack with the 3g Mobile Hot Spot it uses infrastructure instead of ad-hoc(so it actually performs like a router). ([MOD] VZW 3g hotspot app for froyo leak - xda-developers)

    If you are rooted I am also told that android-wifi-tether 3.0 pre14 also uses infrastructure instead of ad-hoc. (Downloads - android-wifi-tether - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting)

    I have not tested the latter as the 3g Mobile Hot Spot hack worked for me.

    There are a lot of arguments as to whether Verizon is tracking those who tether illegally or not. All I can say is that I have been running it since the Fascinate first dropped Eclair through Froyo now and haven't had any problems. However I don't tether more than a couple of days every few months while I travel.
     
    SirKronan likes this.
  12. fstbusa

    fstbusa Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    56
    6
    16
    Have fun with it.... it must be the chipset.... I have the same one and have tried everything under the sun.... it will see the wifi all day long but won't connect to it. I've tried every wifi program and drivers set I can find.

    I can tether fine using a wired tether but not wifi.
     
  13. fstbusa

    fstbusa Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011

    Jan 8, 2011
    56
    6
    16
    I just tried the pre14 and about 60% of the time I get errors when starting tethering but the times I was able to get it to start without errors I was able to connect and get it to work!!!!! hell yeah!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...