1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wireless tether work around on verizon..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by painweaver, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. painweaver

    painweaver Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    29
    3
    16
    I see that verizon blocked the coveted 'wireless tether for root users' app in the market.

    I am so disappointed. I used this app so much for work, I travel a lot and sometimes I can't get wifi internet where I stay or on the road, but often I DO have a phone signal so I can still have internet on my computer to send files and what-not. It has saved my butt in a pinch so many times I lost count.

    Is there any chance we will have an exploit or work-around for this app for the bionic? Any piece of info would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,888
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,888
    6,121
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    Trust me, it's being worked on. 2ndinit I believe is the method they'll need to make it functional (required for Motos with locked bootloaders running GB). I don't know much about it, still trying to learn. I know this is a huge feature for me; don't use it much, but when I need and I'm really appreciative.
    Stay tuned for now. (you can also check out some wired tethering apps, they should work)
     
  3. zedomax

    zedomax Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    5
    12
    8
    Droid Bionic tether hack here: droidbionicroot.com/droid-bionic-tether/how-to-get-free-wifi-tether-mobile-hotspot-on-your-droid-bionic/
     
    tmc363 likes this.
  4. Jeffery

    Jeffery Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    526
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    526
    61
    78
    Marco Island, Florida
    Will Verizon catch this?
     
  5. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
  6. painweaver

    painweaver Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    29
    3
    16

    Yeah, can verizon catch this if you are not running a custom rom? (since we dont have a custom rom yet)
     
  7. sund0wn

    sund0wn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    775
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    775
    175
    93
    I work in an office. It has a window, but it isn't
    In a house, near some mountains.
    and people get upset when they do away with unlimited data... if you want a feature, pay for it (before they take away unlimited data from those who still have it).
     
  8. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    149
    21
    38
    Houston, TX

    Technically speaking, the unlimited data is not included when you use Verizon's tether. To my understanding, it just nets you an extra 2GB/month of tethered data usage. So, people abiding by Verizon's terms who purchase and use their approved tethering can run over the 2GB limit (which is what angers some people.)
     
  9. sund0wn

    sund0wn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    775
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    775
    175
    93
    I work in an office. It has a window, but it isn't
    In a house, near some mountains.

    unless they already have unlimited data. then it's $30 for UNLIMITED tether. imo, that's a steal. Unlimited 4G internet for $30 a month (60 total).
     
  10. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    I tried this to see what would happen. When I changed the settings the verizon data widget stopped increasing but my concern is that all of a sudden my data usage just stopped on a brand new bionic. I think that would throw up a red flag for verizon. As I said I just tried this to see what would happen and have since flashed the full fxz file to put everything back to normal.

    What ever you decide to do it is your choice, not the forums or anybody who posts here. The rewards and consequences are yours alone.
     
  11. wyzird

    wyzird Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    114
    14
    58
    Auto Repair Office Manager, Retail Shop Owner, Wed
    Ohio
    Just for the record, I have the unlimited data plan which they recently honored again when I redid my plan last week. They told me that would be the last time for the new every two and the unlimited data plan.
     
  12. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Yes they got rid of the new every 2. But if you had unlimited data before july 7 this year you are grandfathered in for unlimited as long as you keep that data plan on that line.
     
    wyzird likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...