1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wireless Tether:-/

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eorsini, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. eorsini

    eorsini Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    71
    3
    16
    US Army NG/Verizon Wireless Salesman
    Dirty Jerz
    For some reason my wireless tether isn't working properly. I turn it on and it says that its been granted superuser permissions but then no data moves up or down(or it'll say .4 down and .2 up) and no devices find it! I need help making this work because i'm going to buy the google tablet and just use this to power it WIFI. HELP!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. NOsquid

    NOsquid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    634
    65
    78
  3. Dalamar

    Dalamar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010

    Oct 30, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    Male
    GeekSquad
    El Paso, TX
    You can also use barnacle legacy free in the market. Has to be legacy the new version does not work.
     
  4. eorsini

    eorsini Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    71
    3
    16
    US Army NG/Verizon Wireless Salesman
    Dirty Jerz
    got it. but I'm trying to find it with another galaxy just to make sure it's working, and it's not finding it...
     
  5. dragonzsoul

    dragonzsoul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    169
    5
    36
    hmm... sounds simple, but make sure you know what the wireless name that you're broadcasting. lol it could've been there all along :p
     
  6. eorsini

    eorsini Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    71
    3
    16
    US Army NG/Verizon Wireless Salesman
    Dirty Jerz
    LOL! I did. That was one of the first things I did before I posted. But I got it working on a netbook. For some reason, turning on another galaxy's wifi, it doesn't find it. But the netbooks do, I'm going to try it on the store demo Ipad in a second... But If it works... HELLO Galaxy Tab withuot Verizon's $20 monthly charge. Just Wifi babyyy
     
  7. NOsquid

    NOsquid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    634
    65
    78
    Yeah, I think I've read before that other galaxy's don't pick up.

    I streamed an episode on Hulu on my desktop last night with no hangups :) while emailing/texting.
     
  8. eorsini

    eorsini Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    71
    3
    16
    US Army NG/Verizon Wireless Salesman
    Dirty Jerz
    Yea, that was my dumb fault:eek:. I wasn't trying it on my laptop or anything. But I tried it on my store Ipad and netbooks no problem, and its faster than the MIFI's we sell LOL!
     
  9. dragonzsoul

    dragonzsoul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    169
    5
    36
    my wireless speeds are abysmal for some reason. outdoors is acceptable, but indoors (with decent reception) is crap. my droid picked up faster speeds than my fascinate. i mean, wireless tether will work in a pinch, but i'm disappointed
     
  10. NOsquid

    NOsquid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    634
    65
    78
    Yeah obviously the performance will depend on the service area. At home I get ~1.5k down, give or take for peak/off-peak.
     

Share This Page

Loading...