1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wireless Tether

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Nexol, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. Nexol

    Nexol Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Is there a chance of getting caught while using wireless tether?And by that I mean is there a possibility that I will be charged on my bill,I'm not sure if it makes a difference but I'm using an Htc Evo Unrevoked.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    You have unlimited data on sprints network. Depending on when you got your contract for service you may have a limit on roaming data.

    That being said....anythings possible. Would be difficult to prove tho.
     
  3. obscurehaven

    obscurehaven Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    53
    2
    16
    While on the subject, I just rooted my EVO and I downloaded the wifi tether app and works but when I connect with my laptop, there is no actual internet. Is there a thread that offers solutions?
     
  4. tmwilsoniv

    tmwilsoniv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    152
    12
    48
    Yes, there are many threads offering solutions. It's just a matter of finding the right version for your ROM and phone. May I suggest that you consider flashing a custom ROM such as Fresh 3.4.? It comes with Wireless Tether Pre-11. Once installed, you should be good to go.

    Flashing this ROM is the perfect next step once you are routed. AppBrain and Titanium Backup should be installed and running prior to flashing a new ROM. A full data wipe (factory reset) is generally recommended prior to flashing. In the case of Fresh 3.4., it's not critical. The cache and dalvik wipes should be sufficient. QuickBoot will also make the process easier.

    Welcome and good luck!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...