1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root wireless tethering apps not working on newly rooted force phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KEEPiTaHuNNeT, Jul 19, 2013.

  1. KEEPiTaHuNNeT

    KEEPiTaHuNNeT Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I just rooted my force two days ago mainly because i wanted to tether but no app is broadcasting a signal to be picked up. Please help. I have no clue why none of my devices sees the wireless signal when scanning. I tried about these different apps and had no luck.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tgamble160

    tgamble160 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013

    Jun 18, 2013
    24
    8
    16
    Ive been having the same issue. when i check log on wifi tetherfor root users there is an mss clamping error. not sure what it means. but none of my other devices can pick up the signal.
     
  3. sonicbluemustang

    sonicbluemustang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #465
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    438
    85
    53
    Male
    Tallahassee
  4. KEEPiTaHuNNeT

    KEEPiTaHuNNeT Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I get wpa supplicant encryption error
     
  5. KEEPiTaHuNNeT

    KEEPiTaHuNNeT Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    7
    0
    5
  6. sonicbluemustang

    sonicbluemustang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #465
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    438
    85
    53
    Male
    Tallahassee
    In the app
    open Wifi Tether
    hit menu on bottom of phone
    hit settings
    hit Change Device-Profile.....select....Generic ICS/JB (wlan0)
    hit back key
    hit Change Setup-Method.....select....Netd-Ndc (master)
    hit back key
    hit back again
    then hit back key once more
    Reboot
    :)
     
  7. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    2,861
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,861
    1,376
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    I been using PdaNet+ to tether my phone,But the app is $7 and well worth it.

    Sent from my N9100
     
  8. sonicbluemustang

    sonicbluemustang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #465
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    438
    85
    53
    Male
    Tallahassee
    Your a good man for supporting the devs. :)
     
  9. KEEPiTaHuNNeT

    KEEPiTaHuNNeT Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Which Wi-Fi app because i don't see one that offers these settings in its menu
     
  10. KEEPiTaHuNNeT

    KEEPiTaHuNNeT Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    There's like a hundred apps called wifi tether
     
  11. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    5,051
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,051
    3,480
    693
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    tgamble160 likes this.
  12. sonicbluemustang

    sonicbluemustang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #465
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    438
    85
    53
    Male
    Tallahassee
    tgamble160 likes this.
  13. tgamble160

    tgamble160 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013

    Jun 18, 2013
    24
    8
    16
    i have tried all the settings and every tehter app on the market with the same result. nothing else detects my phone. not my tablet not laptop not media players. in wifi thether for root users it give you the option to show log. that is where i saw the mss clamping error. i assume that same error is causing all the apps to not work.
     
  14. tgamble160

    tgamble160 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013

    Jun 18, 2013
    24
    8
    16
    not sure if it will help anyone else but i restored the cwm stock backup from this forum and now wifi tether for root users is working perfect.
     
  15. sonicbluemustang

    sonicbluemustang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #465
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    438
    85
    53
    Male
    Tallahassee
    It may have been one of the previous apps that was installed causing it to not work properly leaving remnants of something in your system. Did you ever try wiping your phone.
    Anyway glad it is up and running. :)
     
  16. tgamble160

    tgamble160 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013

    Jun 18, 2013
    24
    8
    16
    Yes I did. I removed quite a few system apps. I think I removed something I shouldn't have. But yes I got working Good now.
     
  17. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    So if I want WiFi tethering I need to reinstall cwm recovery?
     
  18. tgamble160

    tgamble160 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013

    Jun 18, 2013
    24
    8
    16
    No. The is a cwm stock nandroid. You just place it on your cwm backup folder then boot recovery and restore it as if it were a backup that you made. It takes the phone back to total stock but you keep root.
     
  19. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    This will allow me to use WiFi tether? Wouldn't restoring wipe the data and info that I have at the moment?
     
  20. tgamble160

    tgamble160 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013

    Jun 18, 2013
    24
    8
    16
    Yes it will make the phone bare stock with root . But i was able to use titanium backup so it was basically just like flashing a new rom.
     
    MidshipAc likes this.
  21. NosTraDomus

    NosTraDomus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    to further this quest...

    Can some one, with a working, not turning off after 10min of use, to post

    their WHOLE settings..
    whats checked....whats not...

    or post screen shot..

    thanks,
     

Share This Page

Loading...