1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Wireless Tethering for stock 2.2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bostonsbrash, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. bostonsbrash

    bostonsbrash Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    My Evo came with Android 2.2 built in. Would the app Wireless tethering work with my phone? I dont have to root to use this app do I? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,233
    876
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    To wireless tether you need to root or pay Sprint 30bucks.
    If you are ok with USB tethering, you can use an app in the market called PDANet. The free version allows limited USB tethering (you cannot use secure (https) sites), or pay for the full version of PDANet and get full internet access via USB tether.
     
    Mountainbiker and bostonsbrash like this.
  3. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    418
    108
    68
    Another option is Easytether (also from the market). There is a limited free USB tether option or you can pay the $10 for the full version (cheaper than PDANet). Both work well, though.
     
    Race Harley and Mountainbiker like this.
  4. Mountainbiker

    Mountainbiker Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    43
    1
    16
    I have pda net connected to my hero and works great.
    I tried to connect my friend's EVO via USB tethering using PDA net and could not get it to work, Am I doing some wrong? Any help will be greatly appreciated, I would like to upgrade to EVO but a want to keep my internet connection!

    Thanks
    :thinking::thinking:
     
  5. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    did your friend have pda.net on his evo?
     
  6. Mountainbiker

    Mountainbiker Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    43
    1
    16
    Yes, Ver. 2.45, from the Marketplace. I had 2.45 installed on my laptop, the one I've been using with my hero.
    When trying to connect, pda net says that I don't have a network connection.
    Also when I connect the phone it ask me if it is a USB connection which I choose.
    I selected enable debugging on App. Development.
    Also I noticed that I get an error: failed to connect to pcs.sprint, or something like that.
    EVO is running froyo 2.2.
    May be I need to reinstall pda on my laptop with the evo connected to it so it will recognize the phone?
     
  7. rkkeller

    rkkeller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    588
    105
    93
    The Dog Pound.

    I had that before I think. Start PDAnet, turn on usb tethering and when you connect to your computer select CHARGE ONLY not the tethering selection.
     
  8. Mountainbiker

    Mountainbiker Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    43
    1
    16
    Thanks, I'll try it.
    Also I read in other threads that you can connect by selecting "share internet" on the phone. Anybody is still using that on the latest Evo?
     
  9. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    I think I recall that you don't want to use the share internet option, that now tries to login to sprint hotspot and thus you get the username error.

    it's been a while since I used pda.net but I recall only opening it on the phone, on the laptop, and selecting debug on the phone and charge only
     
  10. Mountainbiker

    Mountainbiker Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    43
    1
    16
    Yeah, that's the error I'm getting when I choose I. sharing, the threads I read were from May and June, so they may be outdated.
    I'll just be happy to connect to the internet via USB, I dont do it very often anyways. I should try easy tether also, and see what happens.
    Thanks
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...