1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wireless Tethering

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dbh1, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. dbh1

    dbh1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    I've been searching the threads and can't seem to find the exact same problem, but I assume I am looking in the wrong places. I converted to CM mostly to get wireless tether, but I can't get it to work. The phone's browser connects to the internet fine, the computer is able to connect to the phone's wifi fine (secured w/WPA), but somehow the computer doesn't connect through to the internet. There is something wrong with the tunnel.

    I hear a lot of solutions for one end or the other not working, but not for the middle.

    Any ideas?


    BTW, PDANet works fine for wired tethering.

    Thanks!

    Core Stats:
    - Provider: Sprint
    - OS Version: 2.3.3
    - Kernal: Tiamat v4.0.6SBC
    - Custom Rom:Cyanogen 7.0.3.1
    - Base Band: 2.15.00.19
    - SetCPU: 2.2.4 Smartas
    - Theme: System
    - Recovery ClockworkMod v3.0.0.5
     

    Advertisement

  2. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,872
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,872
    1,767
    633
    /home/
    Could you give us your settings on your comp and wireless tether?

    IE: OS version on comp....


    Have you tried it on an un-secure connection? IE No passkey?

    I suppose if you don't want to do the whole troubleshooting, you could wipe cache and davlik and try re-flashing the rom..?
     
  3. An UrgeTo Dance

    An UrgeTo Dance The Hero of the Winds
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1,485
    584
    213
    Male
    Also try a different version of CM, such as a nightly. The one you are running is older and the nighties are stable enough to run as a daily driver.
     
  4. dbh1

    dbh1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Thanks!

    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

    So it works when I switch to unsecured. I would certainly prefer it to run secured, but I will take this over reflashing for the time being.

    I would prefer not to reflash again if I don't need to. It's my wife's phone and I get yelled at everytime I mess anything up or forget to reinstall an app or something. Priority is to keep the phone stable so it works without intervention when I'm not around.

    Anyone have any other ideas to get secured working short of flashing?

    Thanks you.
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,421
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,421
    17,318
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    take a look at this guide: http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...net-tethering-w-evo-4g-3g-wireless-wired.html. you can get the tethering apps in it as well.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...