1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Wish I could get this bandwidth on Metro...

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by TheAmazingDave, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    Will it ever happen, or am I stuck with a 6 MBit cap?

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    get a metropcs gsm device, and you will. metropcs's cdma lte was a terrible excuse for LTE, it worked and was good enough but in comparison it cant compete.
     
    TheAmazingDave likes this.
  3. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    As an aside, I take it I'd need a GSM SIM card as well?

    I put my Motion's card in the Nexus and received the same appalling speeds.
     
  4. elcocho852

    elcocho852 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    282
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    282
    37
    43
    Male
    College Student
    CA
    @TheamazingDave yes you will need a byod sim. You will get better speeds than that. I always get about 30mbps up and 19mbps down.
     
    TheAmazingDave likes this.
  5. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    Yea... Bummer.

    I was trying to keep my $55 unlimited LTE and actually have usable service on my tablet. New SIM = new plan. :(

    I'm probably going to downgrade my Metro for the remainder of CDMA-days, and keep buying monthly data for the tablet from T-Mo. I'll be converting to VoIP from the tablet if my plans work out.
     
  6. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida

    You can, did 35mb with my note 2, and 37 with my S4
     
  7. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    Interesting.

    Perhaps I should hold out another month or two to see if bandwidth improves on "Metro" LTE...
     
  8. Vyrus69

    Vyrus69 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    299
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    299
    96
    53
    Male
    Miami, FL
    It won't..all of the CDMA bandwitdth will eventually be converted to HSPA or GSM LTE..switch now, its just going to get worse.
     
  9. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    This is what I don't understand...

    LTE is LTE. There's no "CDMA LTE" or "GSM LTE". The Motion has a CDMA radio and an LTE radio. The demise of CDMA networks should have no bearing on the function of LTE. This is evidenced by the fact that my phone (CDMA/LTE) has the same performance as my tablet (GSM/LTE) on the same tower.

    Not sure how the SIM/UICC argument comes in to play here, I think it's safe to assume that the towers haven't been reconfigured here yet.
     
  10. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    Well dont quote me on this one because I'm far from an expert, from my understanding, they're trying to bridge the metro spectrum and tmobile spectrum for even faster data, but idk.
     
  11. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    In most areas so far the Tmobile and Metro LTE network is essentially one network as they're running off the same towers/spectrum just using different IDs to connect
     
  12. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    You're on a Motion right?
     
  13. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    Im getting 40s and 50s down in rrally good spots..and average around 20s
     
  14. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    Yes. Rockin' the Motion since its release. It's been a fantastic device.

    I get the same bandwidth, using the same UICC, in both the Motion and the Nexus 7.

    Unless there's something about the card that's throttling me down, I get more bandwidth on the same tower using the T-Mo SIM.

    Just trying to figure out why, but I guess it's not that important. I'm going to try porting my Metro number to MagicJack, and then I'll use CSipSimple to make and receive calls from the tablet's LTE.
     
  15. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    441
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    Have they merged the system there yet?
     
  16. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    I don't know. I'm not privy enough to know where to look for that information.

    From what I see between my two devices, I'm going to say no.
     
  17. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    So after playing around for a sec today, I do not think that I am using the same tower. It just so happens that signal quality in my home is similar from both sources.

    I say this because my Metro LTE shows weak signal on my phone at the shopping center down the street, while my tablet on T-Mo in the same spot gets full signal.

    Is there a way to identify which tower I'm using from the device?
     
  18. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    441
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    For the lg motion you will need to hit the test menu (I forgot the number) then enter your security code after you use white rabbit to find what that is , the easy way ask gman if they merged in your area ... YO gman they merge Detroit's yet I am getting way better LTE speeds via T-Mobile now
     
  19. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    TheAmazingDave likes this.
  20. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Lmao they've even lit up 15x15MHz in Detroit while the rest of us except Dallas are still at 10x10MHz for the time being
     
  21. carolcityboyz

    carolcityboyz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    124
    31
    63
    Male
    Miami Gardens, FL
    I have the LG Connect 4G(a phone that reboots all the time and stuck on gingerbeard) and get those speeds in here in Miami.
     
  22. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    441
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    I call bs gman I never get over 21mbs lol no way
    .
     
  23. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    Cool man. Here's the screenies I think you need.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Lmfao well the spectrums there maybe they just haven't upped the backhaul speed yet. Which they can do remotely but they're choosing not do in some places, guess they've only done it in Dallas since that's there 20x20MHz test zone
     
  25. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    No they haven't combined the LTE there just yet
     
    TheAmazingDave likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...