1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Woke up to find my phone in Contact with the Mothership (verizon)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ISASoilder, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. ISASoilder

    ISASoilder Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    213
    26
    43
    College, Work
    Washington D.C
    So I awake about 2days ago to find my phone 20sec in to a call with the number *2289(verizon) and it was stating that it was activating and programming my phone, which had been done when I recived my phone, My phone was locked so no one could have came in my room and dailed it, but My signal issues have cleared up, was there an update pushed to the Gnex, anybody exp this??
     

    Advertisement

  2. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    Check your About Phone in settings and see if an update was automatically installed.
     
  3. syntrix

    syntrix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,418
    303
    163
    engineer
    The South
  4. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    What is your PRL under settings - About Phone - Status?
     
  5. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    You will be the envy of all stock ICS users if your version is 4.03 ;)
     
  6. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    One, he's not trolling. During the last major outage others reported this and.found their PRLs changed from 15098 to 62452 or something similar. One guy did a battery pull and facfory reset to try to stop the update but his phone kept autodialing the number.

    Two, that number is not preloaded in your contacts. If i factory reset my phone and don't log back into my account during set up, then I have no contacts period.

    Three, *22899 is a shortcut way of callinv *228 then option 2. I used it all the time to update the PRL on my 3G phones.

    I don't mean to sound harsh, but it's ridiculous to accuss someone of trolling when yku obviously don't know all the facts. Doesn't that make YOU the troll, instead?

    And I honestly don't know if it was known to brick the older 4G phones as this is my first one, but I can assure you that by setting *22899 as a contact and dialing it thats way will not only update your PRL on the GNex, but will not brick this phone.
     
  7. Karuk

    Karuk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    374
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    374
    100
    68
    Tech Admin
    Mr. OJ is right. The OP isn't a troll. Not even a little bit.Same thing happened to me several times during the outages.
     
  8. red66charger

    red66charger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    791
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    791
    380
    133
    Television Production, Producer/Director, Editor
    Belleair Bluffs, FL
    I'd really appreciate a lesson on PRL and if I should do anything to update my device. I am stock. Also I am a former Alltel subscriber. I mention this because when I went back to my VZW store to inquire about my poor reception, the associate asked if I was a former Alltel customer. He then mentioned something about PRL and did something on the computer that he said might help my reception issue. FWIW...it didn't.
     
  9. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    1,525
    969
    233
    N/W Ohio
    This is an auto dial that many people have reported on many forums. I'm willing to bet it happens all the time without people even knowing. From what I understand it does not show up in recent calls either.
     
  10. Sports1131

    Sports1131 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011

    Nov 25, 2011
    33
    14
    18
    Are you guys able to dial *22899 manually? Every time I've tried I immediately get a "Call not sent" message.
     
  11. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
    If you add the number to your contacts, it will let you dial it. OP, if *22899 is in your contacts, remove it and it shouldn't be able to dial it again.
     
    Sports1131 likes this.
  12. ISASoilder

    ISASoilder Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    213
    26
    43
    College, Work
    Washington D.C
    1st im no a troll i woke up to my phone dialing 2nd its not in my contacts and my prl has not changed its still the 52642 and no lol im still on 4.0.2 and you guys are right about it not being in my contacts nor in my recent calls i would have never known about this if i hadnt woke up!!
     
  13. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    I think at some point your PRL did change. AFAIK everyone had a PRL of 15098 until some of them experienced this strange self update which changed it to 52642.
     
  14. rfdong

    rfdong Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    50
    2
    16
    When I first received mine, I went through the activation sequence but it wouldn't activate. The phone then started repeatedly dialing that *2289 over and over unable to activate. I had to shut it down to make it stop. This happened more than once (eachtime i powered onit would start dialing) and I finally had to shut it down and call Verizon.
     
  15. vandyman

    vandyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,209
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    1,209
    730
    233
    Industrial Electrician
    South Jersey
    I am still at 15098 and my Nexus is rooted if that means anything.
     
  16. syntrix

    syntrix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,418
    303
    163
    engineer
    The South
    Interesting, my post was deleted.

    *228 updates your PRL on a 3G type phone. Preferred Roaming List. AKA which cell towers to use. It has nothing to do with an Android update.

    edit: 4G phones update the PRL on a reboot.
     
  17. Mr. Orange 645

    Mr. Orange 645 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    298
    120
    68
    SW Missouri
    Yes it was and for good reason.
     
    finn5975 and Premium1 like this.
  18. Rory88

    Rory88 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Just did this and my PRL went from 15098 to 52642
     
  19. Blue218

    Blue218 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    700
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    700
    83
    98
    I just dialed *22899 (from my contacts) and my GN also "updated the PRL from 1508 to 52642. Is this supposed to help with reception? in 4g or just 3g?
     
  20. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    1,525
    969
    233
    N/W Ohio
    I don't know what it does but it made zero difference for me as far as reception. Still at the same dBm and asu as before on both 3g and 4g.
     
  21. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #151
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011

    Oct 26, 2011
    500
    178
    93
    people have been reporting this *22899 activity since December 15th. nothing new. several threads about it here and on AC. It just updates your roaming capability. the improved reception would only be noticeable in the places where you'd be in roaming, not in your home area.
     
    Dubbin1 likes this.
  22. Connectz

    Connectz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    353
    33
    43
    Getting Money
    Neptune
    Yup, just did this and my PRL updated to the same.
     
  23. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,100
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,100
    415
    273
    TN
    Huh, my stock GN is 15098 after a bunch of reboots
     
  24. Premium1

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    578
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    578
    348
    113
    I think it just is for which tower or area the phone looks for signal from. I think it more pinpoints your area if you move around from one area to another or vice versa.
     
  25. sperho

    sperho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011

    Dec 2, 2011
    270
    126
    68
    Eastern TN
    This happened to me twice today. I had the radios turned off because I was in a theater and when I turned them back on, it auto-called - the first time I manually hang up and a few minutes later, it called again. I listened to it the second time and it just sounded like a normal activation was going on. Very strange. Never happened to me before on my Droid or Bionic (that I was aware of).
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...