1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Wont accept my RUU downgrade at step 4?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Arcco686, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. Arcco686

    Arcco686 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Im stuck on step 4....I have renamed the RUU downgrade to PG05IMG.zip and placed it in my removable disk which is my SD card. Ran the prompt adb reboot bootloader and when i choose bootloader on my phone it says something to the affect "wrong image or file" it wont accept the downgrade. Any idea of what im doing wrong? i have tried to re-download the downgrade again and had no success. any help is appreciated. thx
     

    Advertisement

  2. Two_cents

    Two_cents Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    182
    27
    43
    is it named a zip.zip maybe? when you look at the file in your computer you shouldn't see .zip you should just see PG05IMG and the icon should be of a zip file... if it is any file named PG05IMG it will try to load it no matter if your rooted or not but being rooted allows for you to push the s-off files
     
  3. Arcco686

    Arcco686 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    that was the problem...im an idiot. thx for the help!
     
  4. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Don't be too hard on yourself, you would be surprised how many times that happens. Even to the most experienced... :)
     
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    yup... been there myself :)

    windows automagically adds the .zip for you :eek:
     
  6. chochard

    chochard Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hey guys, I seem to be having this same exact issue however I checked to see if my file extensions were correct and they are, I have not hidden the extension and the downgrade is successfully named PG05IMG.zip. When going into bootloader I get the same "no image or wrong image". I have tried several different root methods and I seem to get hung up on the same step every time..if anyone could show me some insight, I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thanks
     
  7. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    if i were in your shoes i would make sure i had the correct checksum. sounds like a bad download.
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    how are you checking for the correct filename? when looking at .zip files in windows exlporer the ".zip" is not attached to any of the filenames,so if youre checking this same manner, you still may be naming it PG05IMG.zip.zip"

    one foolproof method of checking is to use astro file manager on your phone. navigate to the IMG file. long press on it,then tap details. this will tell you exactly its name and extention.

    the other possibility is that you are maybe substituting the zero for a capital letter "O".

    if you have checked the md5 as digdug suggested and verified that youre using the correct,uncorrupted download for this step,there are only 2 reasons that an IMG file is not seen:
    1)not named correctly(as described above)
    2)sd card NOT formatted FAT32

    good luck :)
     
  9. ilmar72

    ilmar72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    233
    15
    38
    Male
    Pennsylvania
    I was running liquid gingersense . I copied the .402 froyo radio to my SD card. Went into Rom manager and restored my last froyo Rom. Then booted into hboot and flashed the radio. All is well for 2 days now . Maybe I'm just lucky but I think this whole downgrade process is un necessary
     

Share This Page

Loading...