1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Won't connect to wifi!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PrinceCorwin, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. PrinceCorwin

    PrinceCorwin Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #189
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    961
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012

    Oct 23, 2012
    961
    266
    123
    Male
    Welder
    Houston, TX
    Anyone know why my phone suddenly won't connect to my home wifi? I've tried forgetting and reinputting the password, rebooting, disassembling sdcard and simcard... nothing. I just get this screen showing that the network is saved and secured but it won't turn on. HELP!

    update: after resetting my router a couple of times, the problem fixed itself
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. finndo77

    finndo77 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    860
    107
    103
    Male
    Unix/VMware admin
    Richmond, VA
    I had this issue a while back and found it had to do with the security setup of my router
    Aes/tkip
    No idea why it just started having problems, when I had not changed anything and had been working fine, but I even went so far as to spend $200 on a new router and had the same issues... but after changing the security setting it all started working again.
     
    PrinceCorwin likes this.
  3. PrinceCorwin

    PrinceCorwin Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #189
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    961
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012

    Oct 23, 2012
    961
    266
    123
    Male
    Welder
    Houston, TX
    Greetings from Amber, finndo! What are the steps to change the security settings? This keeps happening repeatedly every couple of weeks where suddenly all VZ devices in the house refuse to connect to the wifi until I reset the router. The problem never affects non VZ devices.
     
  4. azoller1

    azoller1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,074
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    1,074
    643
    213
    What i do to change the password is type http://192.168.1.1 in your address bar then the password for me was username:admin and password:admin if you have a linksys router and then click on security or something like that and change it to whatever you like

    Edit: wait click on wireless then wireless security and then change it there
     
  5. finndo77

    finndo77 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    860
    107
    103
    Male
    Unix/VMware admin
    Richmond, VA
    Different places for different routers, but yeah that pretty much covers it, somewhere in your router's web akin page is wireless security, and it should be listed in there.

    Avalon calls...
     
  6. PrinceCorwin

    PrinceCorwin Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #189
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    961
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012

    Oct 23, 2012
    961
    266
    123
    Male
    Welder
    Houston, TX
    Give Ganelon my regards and remember to bring your gun!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...