1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root /!\ Won't show, have tried everything!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rennegade, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. rennegade

    rennegade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Ive been trying endlessly to root my droid, but cannot get it to the recovery menu in order to install the 'update'? Ive powered on whilst holding X numerous times but it continues to boot as usual with the motorola logo then to the android logo etc? Its running 2.0.1.

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    You are making sure to not let go of X until after you see the motorola logo right?
     
  3. rennegade

    rennegade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Yup was holding it down all the way till the phone had fully booted.
     
  4. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    Did you let go of the Power button as soon as the M logo appeared?
     
  5. rennegade

    rennegade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Sure ive done both, which am I supposed to do?
     
  6. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    You're supposed to let go of the power button when the Moto logo shows, while continuously holding down the X button.
     
  7. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    keyboard might be foobar?

    There's an app called QuickBoot (or Quick Boot) on the market - install, launch it, and select the option to boot into recovery. I can't remember if Quickboot requires root or not...yup, requires root.

    Tthe other possibility aside from keyboard issues is that your recovery partition is messed up...
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    I've always held the power button down until the Recovery menu appears, so I don't think that's the issue here.
     
  9. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Btw, quickboot requires root :(
     
  10. rennegade

    rennegade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Got my hopes up with that app...I havnt played around with anything other then installing apps from the market place. So could the recovery partition be screwed up from factory?

    I know Im doing everything right, have watched vids on booting to recovery etc...still nothing.
     
  11. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    If in fact your hardware keyboard "X" key is working(easy to verify in messaging/etc.), then something may very well be botched with your recovery partition or OS otherwise.

    Get ASTRO file manager, or Titanium backup. With ASTRO, you can back up your apps, Titanium even more.

    Then follow the instructions in this thread to completely restore 2.0.1:

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/47349-now-you-can-live-without-fear-bricking.html

    By the way, not sure if it is clear in the thread, but this requires booting into the bootloader. To get there, hold the volume UP and camera keys while pressing the power button to power up.

    Once it is done, see if you can boot into recovery then.. if not it is time for a warranty exchange;)
     
  12. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    Just use dross
    Droid mod updater to root
     
  13. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    I just used DMupdater to root my replacement Droid yesterday.. It required me to reboot into recovery myself. Unless there is a newer version than the one I have??

    Does ROM manager root for you?..Never tried that..but I know it automatically reboots when intstalling CM(already rooted of course..)

    I am thinking that since Quickboot requires root to work properly, neither one of the above apps will be able to reboot into recovery by itself until the root update.zip is applied.

    Of course if I am wrong again, I will gladly stand corrected:p
     
  14. rennegade

    rennegade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I tried to restore it to 2.0.1 but got an error stating the flash has failed due to my phone not being compatible.

    'Phone is not compatible with multi-interface super-file. (0x703B)'

    Yes droidpcguru you are correct.
     
  15. rennegade

    rennegade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    bump any ideas? Really want to root my phone, bored of it now!
     
  16. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    If it is still stock and you can't get into recovery, you could return it and get another phone from Verizon...it's not working as it should, so they could replace it for you.
     
  17. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    That would be my suggestion also. Just tell them you cannot access the recovery menu to do a full factory reset. Too bad about the SBF problem, though..I'm sure it would have solved the problem as it re-flashes every part of the phone.
     
  18. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ

    Are you getting the error at the beginning or the end? I have heard that if you get an error at about 99% that if you hit "select device" it will actually go through...
     
  19. rennegade

    rennegade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Im getting it at the begining. Ok thanks for all the help, guess I will have to go through the return route.
     

Share This Page

Loading...