1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Won't surf web while on phone?!?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thelsdeffect, Mar 23, 2012.

  1. thelsdeffect

    thelsdeffect Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    13
    0
    35
    So I love my new Razr Maxx but it will not surf the web while I'm on the phone unless WiFi is enabled. I mainly use this function at work (where there is no WiFi) so what is the deal? Is there something wrong with my phone or is this just not a feature of this phone? I upgraded from the Droid Incredible from 2 years ago and it was able to do this!

    On a different question, anyone know how to update the Android Market to Google Play? My Market app still works and takes me to the old Market, like old old, before the new layout. I would really like the update as I had that as well on my 2 year old phone. Other than these 2 issues I am loving the Maxx and it's awesome battery life though.
     

    Advertisement

  2. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #236
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    570
    148
    93
    Arizona
    If youre on 4g, you can do both.
     
  3. thelsdeffect

    thelsdeffect Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    13
    0
    35
    No 4G in this area, not even expected till next year!!! So does it just not work with 3G at all? That might be a deal-breaker for me :(
     
  4. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    The incredible can't do this either. Are you sure you weren't actually on wifi when you were doing that with the incredible?
     
  5. thelsdeffect

    thelsdeffect Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    13
    0
    35
    I am positive that I have done this before and without WiFi as there was none available at my work and this is when I did that.
     
  6. Ridgerunner665

    Ridgerunner665 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #548
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    194
    39
    43
    Heavy haul truck driver
    Very few new phones support SVDO on 3G...and even then its usually not a very reliable connection.
     
  7. thelsdeffect

    thelsdeffect Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    13
    0
    35
    That's so weird cause I know I have done this multiple times without access to a WiFi network with my DINC. So are you saying there aren't really any phones out there now that do? What ones do you know of that do allow it?
     
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    It's impossible that you have done it on the incredible. Verizon is a CDMA network, and doesn't allow simultaneous voice and data.. 4G is the only way it can happen with a verizon phone, like a previous poster mentioned. In order to surf you must have been on a Wifi network when you did it before.
     
  9. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #236
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    570
    148
    93
    Arizona
    Just tried this on my DINC, and DINC 2 and it didnt work. No internet while on a call, unless the WiFi is on, and connected.
     
  10. morandchi

    morandchi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012

    Mar 14, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I tried it (with my TB) I am on 4G and talking and surfing works (I called my apt phone and surfed the web).

    Chris
     
  11. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    Did you have an incredible s on att or Tmobile?
     
  12. thelsdeffect

    thelsdeffect Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    13
    0
    35
    Well that many people shouldn't be wrong, but I clearly remember doing it while at work, though can't try now cause my Incredible is not hooked up anymore. Mine was the first Incredible, on Verizon, no 4G network anywhere to speak of, not hooked to a WiFi network. Oh well, guess I'll get over it till we get 4G next year, lol! As for the Market issue it finally asked me to update over 48 hours of having the phone! Yay!!! Thanks for all the input.
     
  13. Barkleyfan

    Barkleyfan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    206
    31
    43
    Thunderbolt was the first Verizon phone to allow simultaneous voice & data. And no, it did not require lte for it to work. I tested it before our LTE towers were up.
     
  14. skiahh

    skiahh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    125
    7
    36
    And 2 years ago, on a DI, you could NOT do both.

    CDMA doesn't allow it, so somehow, the OP had a wifi connection when s/he was talking and surfing.

    It's not the phone... it's the network. You were somehow getting an LTE connection or had a wifi connection. CDMA/3G simply does not support both voice and data. Period. It doesn't matter what phone you had, either.

    [edit: Ignore blathering above. I'm wrong. Looks like it IS the phone, or rather the chipset in the phone.]
     
  15. bbeelzebub

    bbeelzebub Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    194
    69
    53
    El Lay / Hollyweird
    But you're wrong. The Thunderbolt, Rezound and IIRC one or two LG phones do. Certain Qualcomm chips support SV-DO which allow simultaneous voice/data on CDMA / 3G. You should probably check your facts before making such a strong and very wrong statement.
     
  16. skiahh

    skiahh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    125
    7
    36
    Huh... I did do some checking and I stand corrected. I hadn't heard of SVDO at all. Thanks.
     
  17. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI

    It's not a major selling point. Especially since Verizon doesn't want to emphasize the fact that most of their phones can't use 3g data and voice simultaneously.
     
  18. lilja210

    lilja210 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012

    May 9, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    My DROID x did internet while on a call..and my phone before...the Motorola CLIQ on T-Mobile did so as well..on 3g. For some reason I assumed all Android phones did. Was disappointed that the DROID RAZR could not do this. As u can see I put all my trust in Motorola..can not belive this "powerful" phone does not have the capabilities.
     
  19. lilja210

    lilja210 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012

    May 9, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    You guys are crazy no offense..but look when i heard u could do all that fancy stuff on a i phone I immediately tryed it on my Motorola CLIQ..and my DROID x..it worked on 3g with no problem..I don't know about any other phones..but with those phones it worked. And I used that against all the i phone users, so am not crazy.
     
  20. Spydaz

    Spydaz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012

    Apr 2, 2012
    34
    7
    16
    No you cannot do voice and data @ same time on 3G CDMA devices PERIOD!
    If your on wifi then YES.
    If you have 4G LTE in your area then YES.

    You can do Voice and Data @ same time on any GSM devices.
     
  21. 2xus

    2xus Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I/T
    NJ
    I HAD to join this forum & reply because your dead WRONG (search this forum for Talk and Surf on 3G or google it & watch the youtube videos)! I've owned the HTC Thunderbolt since it 1st came out and I talked and surfed the web at the same time, ALL the time. And no WiFi was not on (I DO know how to operate my phone so please don't waste your time trying to correct me based off what you do not know).
    I just got the Razr Maxx and I'm very disappointed that a newer phone can not do the same. This sadly IS a deal breaker for me since I REALLY like the Razr Maxx but not being able to do this not only hinders browsing the web but eliminates me from using any app that need access to data.
     
  22. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    411
    43
    43
    The thunderbolt has a seperate radio for voice and one for 3G, which makes this possible, while other 3g phones combines voice and 3g into one radio. Motorola was not going to a seperate radio for 3g, a seperate radio for voice anda seperate radio for 4G for the Razr. Overkill. So they combine the voice and 3g into one radio and have a seperate 4G radio, and thus the ability to talk and surf while using 4G.
     
  23. Der Juicen

    Der Juicen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    145
    14
    38
    TO MY KNOWLEDGE.... any of the 3g phones that share the radio ie droid x/inc... can open up PREVIOUSLY CACHED web pages, but cannot open up new web pages and actually surf the net. i did this a few times when i first got my Droid X, giving me a brief illusion that i was surfing, but quickly disappointed...
     
  24. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    For someone so quick to accuse others of being dead WRONG, you seem to have failed to check your own facts. THE RAZR MAXX CAN AND DOES ALLOW BOTH VOICE AND DATA TO BE USED AT THE SAME TIME! I just tried it again to make sure before making this post. I called myself at work, and surfed about 3-4 web pages and the Play Store without an issue. WiFi isn't available at work, so that's not in play here. Now to be fair, I was on a call a couple of weeks ago and for whatever reason, I couldn't get on the web. Could have been a bad 4G signal, so who knows, but it should work if you are connected to 4G. PERIOD. Maybe you have a defective unit.

    The big thing about 4G phones is this exact thing. If that's your dealbreaker for not liking this phone, you are missing out BIG TIME! :cool:
     
  25. bsweetness

    bsweetness Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    473
    100
    68
    Actually, he's right. Notice the post he responded to?

    He's saying that post is dead wrong, and the part in bold is (and obviously that's the part that is being responded to).

    The RAZR MAXX can only do voice and data at the same time if you have a 4G signal. In that situation, it will do data over 4G and voice over 3G. This thread is primarily talking about voice and data over 3G only, which the MAXX cannot do. It is completely incapable of SVDO (simultaneous voice and data over 3G) because it doesn't have the hardware necessary to do it. As has been noted several times in this thread, the Thunderbolt and the Rezound can do this because HTC put a SVDO radio in them. Verizon doesn't advertise the feature for those two phones because it is unreliable, and it's not available of their phones. They don't want to confuse customers or be held to making sure the voice and data over 3G always works.

    So again, as has been said time after time in this thread, the MAXX can do simultaneous voice and data over 4G and 3G, but it absolutely cannot do both simultaneously over only 3G. However, the Thunderbolt and the Rezound are capable of simultaneous voice and data over 3G.
     

Share This Page

Loading...