1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Work Intranet Page not connecting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by willdogs, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. willdogs

    willdogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    665
    211
    113
    Using the broswer, I am trying to access my companies intranet homepage.

    When I try to access the link, it usually presents a pop up login box but using the Eris it dows not.

    I get a page "You are not authorized to view this page" web page...

    Anyone else have this issue? Is this a limitation of Android? I've tried messing with all the settings and still nothing. No way to Log Into the page.

    I've even tried using Dolphin Browser, same thing.

    I believe we use Microsoft Sharepoint and other microsoft back end products
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bxrider11

    Bxrider11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    I used to work for a large company that had an intranet system. When I had my blackberry, I experienced the same problem. I had to eventually have the IT department do something to give clearance to use my phone browser for the intranet. I don't know if it is the same situation with your company. Hopefully this may help.
     
  3. MisterMcGoo

    MisterMcGoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    102
    0
    35
    Since your phone is probably not part of the domain, I don't think you'll be able to see any sites on your corporate Intranet. There could be some other roadblocks too like if your company uses PKI and has softcerts installed on all clients, you're phone will also not work. I'm also assuming you're connected to your corporate network via WiFi, otherwise you'd need some type of VPN connectivity (either via client or SSL/TLS, if your corporate IT security personnel know anything at all). :D
     
  4. SamMax

    SamMax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,767
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    1,767
    1,683
    343
    Male
    Computer Home Theater Repair Installation
    IN
    I tried to access my wifes companies non Intra-net website that requires a username and password and I couldn't get in there either.
     
  5. willdogs

    willdogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    665
    211
    113
    Our intranet site is designed to be access from anywhere, no need to be part of the domain.

    It works from any PC using any browser. It also works using the browser on my Ipod Touch.

    I'm guessing it has something to do with either android or the browsers cant handle the security.
     
  6. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    hmm... That is strange, I would have thought it was something with security but I am not quite sure now.
     
  7. Timber

    Timber Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    4
    0
    25
    Anyone ever find out about this? I have the same problem with my works internal sites. I never get a login prompt, just the "you're not authorized" page. Works with all browsers on Linux, just not Android.

    Oh, the sites I'm having problems with are corporate sites using sharepoint. A local CUPS installation prompts me for login credentials just fine.
     
  8. cmatthaios

    cmatthaios Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    62
    9
    16
    You might need to install a certificate to grant access. I know if I use Dolphin Browser I can accept the certificate, which takes me to a login prompt and then access the intranet
     
  9. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    can you change your user agent in your setting in the stock browser. i think you can in dolphin browser. the site may be picking you us as android browser and blocking you. you can (Sometimes) change your browser identification on some browser to get around this.
     
  10. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    In the settings for the Internet app, make sure that 'Block pop-up windows' is not checked. And it might also help to check 'open in background'. I'm assuming here that the login window is a separate window, which may not be the case.
     
  11. Timber

    Timber Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    4
    0
    25
    I tried all of that, none of it makes a difference. The CUPS page I access does pop up a login dialog that works fine. It seems to have something to do with the MS Sharepoint web pages.

    Both Chrome and Firefox, on my Linux box, not on the domain, pop up a dialog box, and let me in with the correct credentials. The page I get on Android is the same one I get if I hit cancel on the login dialog.

    Standard browser and Dolphin behave the same way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...