1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Working EASY Root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eleazar, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. eleazar

    eleazar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    167
    65
    73
    Ohio
    Update: I realized later that "EASY" might be a bit of a stretch. This guide is easy for anyone already experienced with adb (ie. rooted other android phones). I will update this thread as the methods get easier and easier. I have also attached a screenshot of my command prompt as I entered all of the commands so you can see the appropriate commands and follow the guide through.

    I followed the guide here: http://rootzwiki.com - How to Root the Samsung Fascinate and it worked flawlessly. I just posted this over at XDA as well.

    Took me less than 5 minutes.

    Download the SDK here if you don't have it already: Android SDK | Android Developers

    For beginners that don't know what adb is or how to install it...(original guide here:[GUIDE] ADB, Fastboot, and Nandroid for Noobs - xda-developers)
    The only thing I had to change is when it says a command like:
    Code (Text):
    1. adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    make sure you are in C:\sdk\tools and change the command to this:

    adb push C:\fascinateRoot\rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin

    Where C:\fascinateRoot is where you extracted the files from the guide.

    I can confirm root sticks.

    My cmd prompt history of installing root: http://i54.tinypic.com/241unhj.jpg

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

    SirKronan, droidsmith and merkaba like this.
  2. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Now what about getting this into a rooting process that doesn't involve adb?
     
  3. hanano17

    hanano17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    273
    20
    38
    I'm a root noobie, and I actually like TouchWiz somewhat, so would this allow me to get rid of Bing and the other bloatware and make Google default for everything and leave the rest of TouchWiz as is?
     
  4. Zegapain

    Zegapain Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Do you think you can explain the root guide a little more in-depth? I'm not technically challenged or anything, however this is my first time rooting a phone. I'm especially confused during the beginning where it says

    "- Download above archive
    - Extract to a directory, I used c:\fascinateRoot
    - Make sure you have USB degugging enabled
    - Change connection to PC Mode"

    "Download above archive"
    The SDK Manager?

    "Extract to a directory, I used c:\fascinateRoot"
    Wha? Extract what to what?

    "Make sure you have USB degugging enabled"
    Okay, done.

    "Change connection to PC Mode"
    Do not see that option under the settings in my fascinate.
     
  5. burningembers

    burningembers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    331
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Portland, OR
    Yup, the SDK Manager, you need the ADB shell tool in that particular kit.

    Extract the fascinateRoot.rar below "Setup:" and above the driver links.

    I have no idea what PC Mode is...I actually skipped that step and everything still turned out fine.
     
  6. Zegapain

    Zegapain Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    I don't see anything that says "ADB Shell".

    Okay, done.

    Think I figured that out.
     
  7. burningembers

    burningembers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    331
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Portland, OR
    For me its...

    /android-sdk-windows/tools/adb.exe

    I added the fully qualified path to this executable to my Environment Variables (in Windows 7) - this way I could access the ADB command from anywhere while in command prompt. This let me use it while sitting in wherever I unzipped fascinateRoot.rar

    For typing purposes I also renamed rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin to just rage.bin (and sub'd rage.bin for subsequent command use). This saved me some time and some typos.
     
  8. Zegapain

    Zegapain Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Found it. By what do I do with it?

    Hmm, I am appreciating your help thus far, however, most of what you just said is a little over my head. :thinking:
     
  9. burningembers

    burningembers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    331
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Portland, OR
    Were you able to find the ADB.exe? This should be in the tools directory of that SDK you download. It is what will let you use the root commands like ADB SHELL, ADB PUSH, etc.

    For Environment Variables, this basically let's you hard-set a path so that no matter where you are in the command prompt directory-wise, you can access the executeables of that path (in this case, ADB.exe).

    On Windows 7 for me, anyway, I found this by going to System properties, Advanced tab, Environment Variables button on the bottom right, then appending to the end of my PATH variable: ";C:\Users\myusername\Desktop\eclipse\android-sdk-windows\tools\"

    The semi-colon is important, as every entry there is semi-colon delimited.
     
  10. eleazar

    eleazar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    167
    65
    73
    Ohio
    I updated the thread with more beginner-friendly instructions. :) Hopefully that will make it easier for those less experienced with android/rooting/adb. Just remember to copy/paste the guide's commands (don't retype them) and be sure to add the file location to the command (ie. adb push C:\fascinateRoot\Superuser.apk

    If you guys get stuck, keep asking questions! Some of the more experienced users will help out. :)
     
    SirKronan likes this.
  11. SirKronan

    SirKronan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    1,292
    196
    143
    Psychosocial rehabilitation specialist
    In a house
    Can't thank you enough. I just wanted to have an option to root the for sure works before I ditch my Droid X for this phone. There are only a few other "rooted phone only" things I would like to know that work before I bite the bullet, but I'm pretty sure they will work soon:

    1. Launcher Pro
    2. Root Explorer
    3. Wireless Tether

    If anyone can verify these work, I would be extremely grateful.
     
  12. eleazar

    eleazar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    167
    65
    73
    Ohio
    1. Launcher Pro doesn't require root to work and I can verify it works because I have been using it since I got my Fascinate yesterday. :)

    2. Haven't tried yet. Will try in a bit.

    3. I am using Wireless Tether right now to post this. :) Works perfectly.
     
    SirKronan likes this.
  13. theicemonkey

    theicemonkey Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    26
    1
    16

    Root Explorer works flawlessly as well on my Fascinate. I'm running it right now.
     
  14. SirKronan

    SirKronan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    1,292
    196
    143
    Psychosocial rehabilitation specialist
    In a house
    Wahoo!
     
  15. theicemonkey

    theicemonkey Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    26
    1
    16
    I used the root method that is currently linked to from the homepage:

    joeykrim-SDX - Permanent Root for Epic (and Verizon Fascinate) - Confirmed

    Everything went flawlessly with the exception of SuperUser (which I do not have). I seem to have root permissions to things (Root Explorer works fine), but I don't have the application installed. I went into the market and downloaded a version of it, but I don't know if that works or if it is the correct thing to do. Anybody with more experience than me have any thoughts?
     
  16. eleazar

    eleazar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    167
    65
    73
    Ohio
    Superuser.apk is available in the guide in my first post. It is the version I used and many others used that has worked perfectly.

    Let us know if you still can't get it to work.
     
  17. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    I'm all for rooting my Fascinates, IF there is a way to get back to absolute stock should I ever need to return my device.

    Are there any images or files to return the Fascinate to stock, unrooted form at this time? I'm only familiar with RSD Lite for Motorolas, is there an equivalent utility for Samsung phones that can flash the phones with image files?
     
  18. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Ok I just did it myself. It does work. But I had to weed through it all. I will make a "Beginner's Write Up"
     
  19. merkaba

    merkaba Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    44
    3
    16
    Thanks for making this post and explaining everything. I was able to get it working in about 15 minutes! :)
     
  20. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Download the files
    fascinateRoot.rar
    Android SDK (adb)

    (For the android-sdk_r07-windows.zip, open the folder inside the zip named "android-sdk-windows" and extract those files and folders)
    UNZIP these files into “c:\sdk\”
    To make things easier, extract the files from "fascinateRoot.rar" to “c:\sdk\tools\”

    Make sure you have USB degugging enabled.
    -Go to Settings on your phone
    Select Applications
    Select Development
    Make sure 'USB Debugging' is checked

    Now we can get started!

    Process:
    - Open command prompt (Start Button, CMD.exe, or in Vista and 7 just type in cmd and click enter)
    Type in the code EXACTLY as you see it

    Code (Text):
    1. cd c:/sdk/tools
    2. adb devices (to verify the connection)
    3. adb push c:/sdk/tools/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    4. adb shell
    5. cd data/local/tmp
    6. chmod 0755 rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    7. ./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    8.  
    THE KEY PART HERE IS TO WAIT! IT TAKES ABOUT 2 MINUTES TO REFRESH.
    Once it says c:\sdk\tools again, then you're ready for the next part.

    Code (Text):
    1. adb devices (to verify the connection)
    2. adb shell (you should now have a # prompt instead of $)
    3. exit
    4.  
    5. adb push c:/sdk/tools/Superuser.apk /system/app/Superuser.apk
    6. adb push c:/sdk/tools/su /system/bin/su
    7. adb push c:/sdk/tools/busybox /system/bin/busybox
    8. adb shell
    9. chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
    10. chmod 4755 /system/bin/busybox
    11. exit
    12.  
    And you're finished!


    All credit goes to Sebastian Krahmer at C skills. Please see fit to donate via Paypal to 7-4-3-C@web.deThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
    DISCLAIMER: SDX Developers, XDA Developers and RootzWiki are not liable or responsible for any damages to your phones, this is solely the users decision to "root" their phone. Enjoy!
     
  21. theicemonkey

    theicemonkey Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    26
    1
    16
    Thanks so much for the help (and for not getting frustrated with me!). If anyone else did the method listed on the Phandroid homepage and then had trouble, follow the following steps FIRST, before trying the above method:

    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell
    2. su
    3. mount -t rfs -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
    4. rm /system/bin/joeykrim-root.sh
    5. rm /system/bin/jk-su
    6. rm /system/bin/playlogo
    7. rm /etc/passwd
    8. rm /etc/group
    9. mv /system/bin/playlogo-orig /system/bin/playlogo
    10. mount -t rfs -o remount,ro /dev/block/stl9 /system
    Please Note: The above steps are joeykrim's (of SDX) uninstallation method for his root guide

    Once I did this and rebooted, I was able to successfully complete this version and achieve permanent root.
     
  22. blueyce28

    blueyce28 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    19
    3
    16
    Will I need a Samsung driver? it doesn't recognize when the phone is in USB Debug mode.
     
  23. eleazar

    eleazar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    167
    65
    73
    Ohio
  24. blueyce28

    blueyce28 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    19
    3
    16
    Ah, maybe i should have followed the link instead. Thanks for the help! :]
     
  25. mackeydesigns

    mackeydesigns Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    61
    13
    18
    I've been on this part for several minutes now (maybe going on 10+) with no movement back to the folder. What should I do?
     

Share This Page

Loading...