1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Working MHL Adapter

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by homemadehitshow, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. homemadehitshow

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    I've tried 2 from Monoprice and one from Best Buy and none of the MHL Adapters have worked at all with the Nexus.

    Can anyone recommend a working one ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SBCT

    SBCT Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    60
    7
    16
    I was going to order one from monoprice myself. I guess I'll have to stick around and see what other options people chime in with.
     
  3. 4lph4num3r1c

    4lph4num3r1c Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009

    Jan 9, 2009
    191
    42
    63
    I were just about to order mine from Amazon today but I wasn't sure either. :-/
     
  4. DLCPhoto

    DLCPhoto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    30
    5
    16
    NC
    This is puzzling, as it *should* work - do you have power plugged into the MHL adapter via the micro USB port on the side? Apparently, these adapters will not work without power, and some indicate that the battery charge needs to be fairly high for it to work, even if it is connected to the power adapter.
     
  5. overbyc1

    overbyc1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    104
    103
    68
    Male
    Cable Guy
    East NC
    are you using the power cord that came with the phone. I ordered the $7 MHL from overstock when they were a great deal.

    Had it plugged up with a blackberry charger and it would NOT work. Used the supplied power cord and it works like a champ.
     
  6. bhill

    bhill Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    81
    27
    23
    Mid-Hudson Valley, NY
    Yeah, the monoprice one worked fine for me, using the OEM charger as the power feed.
     
  7. homemadehitshow

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    Interesting. I have so many chargers I'm not sure I can identify the original OEM one. Any tips ?
     
  8. Asterdroid

    Asterdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    989
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    The cable has a vcast tag on it if you didn't remove it.
     
  9. Germwise

    Germwise Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    406
    57
    53
    Its all about power. If you plug in the power charger and you syill dont get singal just restart phone and you should be fine
     
  10. homemadehitshow

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    All tried and failed and all makes it kind of worthless.
     
  11. beeps

    beeps Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011

    Oct 24, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    I'm using the one from monoprice too and it has worked fine.
     
  12. Asterdroid

    Asterdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    989
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    How much of a charge did your phone have when you tried it?

    I've read a few accounts of the MHL connections not working if your phone is less than 70% charged.
     
  13. homemadehitshow

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    64
    3
    16
    Alright. So using the Verizon charger was the trick. Can anyone explain the different in amps or whatever with that charger ?

    To me it's not practical to use. You have to have power, a large HDMI cable (and it has to be long enough to be far enough from the TV). Fun but I can't think of a real use for it.
     
  14. homemadehitshow

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    64
    3
    16
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...