1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Working on this section

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tokenpoke, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. CyberTails

    CyberTails Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    112
    31
    63
    Male
    I unfortunately don't have that, but I have factory resetted before with Ultrajack though :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. starxpilot

    starxpilot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    536
    61
    98
    Loss Prevention Agent
    Garland
    Haha, the M835 isn't mine as well, its a friend's phone.

    How do you make a Freshboot recovery? I haven't tried to 'tamper' with it or play with ROMS...just yet. Rather not till a stable one is made. (Without kinks and bugs, things that can make people who aren't as they say 'tech savy' go nuts).

    Only thing the phone has been is rooted with Gingerbreak, latest I think, can't remember the version but I googled it and checked the number. Removed nearly all MetroPCS stock apps.
     
  3. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    In phone settings do a factory reset. Turn off the phone and backup in ultra without rebooting
     
  4. golephish

    golephish Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    46
    1
    16
    Engineer - SDC
    Roswell,GA
    ok I was able to replace the metro pcs boot sound! the boot animation however is giving me problems. I can not seem to o:rolleyes:ver write or move or delete the bootimage.zip even when mounted in r/w -- also , what is the best way aside from titan to to a nand backup? I have the liberty toolbox that will reboot to recovery, but I didn't see the recovery in the options menu -- as for ROMS, it isn't looking too good for my android starter ki.. is it ?
     
  5. CyberTails

    CyberTails Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    112
    31
    63
    Male
    For the boot animation, try copying a "bootanimation.zip" file from a SD Card to /data/cust/media with a Root File Explorer (I use ES File Explorer), backup the original first though just to be safe
     
  6. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    You know that a cement backup IS a nandroid backup right?
     
  7. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    All I can do with es is see the cust folder contents, I didn't try the boot animation I restored my titanium backup of root explorer on to my friends phone (removed it after use, as it is a paid app) and Did all boot mods and app removal with that.
     
  8. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    A cwm is on the way (thanks to playfulgod) if you would like to help test it and future roms pm me so I can point you in the right direction.
     
  9. CyberTails

    CyberTails Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    112
    31
    63
    Male
    I know, the cust folder's locked, even with ES, I had to use a tutorial to edit it so that the phone thinks that bootanimatiion.zip is in /system/media, this is said tutorial here NOTE: The oemlogo.mbn part of the tutorial dies NOT work on the M835, you need to follow my splash screen tut to install a new splash screen :)
     
    Tokenpoke likes this.
  10. Oimmuk

    Oimmuk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    Hello all, New to this Forum, new to Hauwei M835, new to Andriod and following this forum closely, and Subscribed. I hope to learn a lot here and look forward to others experiences with this phone.
     
  11. johnny_blue

    johnny_blue Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi everyone Im new to this forum, I would like to know if anyone has any idea how to unlock the screen using the buttons, I dropped my phone earlier and the screen got cracked so that means I cannot use the touch screen to unlock it so I can use the menu make phone calls and stuff
    Thank You in Advance

    P.S Great Work Guys
     
  12. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    I can't find any way to unlock the screen without sliding the screen.

    For now getting your screen fixed is your only option
     
  13. mcr0986

    mcr0986 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    19
    3
    16
    Ft. Lauderdale FL
    i rename the boot animation.zip file to oldbootanimation.zip and didnt replace it with anything and rebooted and the metro pcs boot screen was replaced with an android boot screen. That was pretty cool. Then i tried to paste a custom bootanimation into the folder and named it bootanimation.zip and rebooted and i only had a black boot screen. Any idea what i should do? Where is the droid loading this android animation from if it isnt in the folder that contained the metro boot animation?
     
  14. CyberTails

    CyberTails Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    112
    31
    63
    Male
    Are you copying the bootanimation.zip into the /cust/metropcs/us/media folder? if so, then try this tutorial to make the phone look for the bootanimation.zip into /system/media instead :)
     
  15. mcr0986

    mcr0986 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    19
    3
    16
    Ft. Lauderdale FL
    yes i was copying it into the cust/metropcs/us/media folder i am new to the whole smart phone thing (lets just say i have been living under a rock) and dont have any experience editing hex so i will probably just leave it with the droid boot animation that it has now (it is much better than the metro one). Thanks for your response though i have learned alot in the last two days. I rooted my phone installed setcpu, root explorer and the jack recovery program and changed the huawei splash screen as well as the boot sound.
     
  16. mcr0986

    mcr0986 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    19
    3
    16
    Ft. Lauderdale FL
    I was looking into trying to edit the directory of the bootanimation.zip in the tutorial posted above and am interested in trying to do it but i dont have the slightest idea on how to use Hex editor or even where to download it. Is there a tutorial for hex editor? or an easier was to change the directory? Am I asking too much? I learn quickly and can follow directions very well :)
     
  17. CyberTails

    CyberTails Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    112
    31
    63
    Male
    K, just a little heads up for future customization, the /cust folder is locked, even with a Root Explorer, Extract the /system/bin/bootanimation from the phone's files system amd put it into your SD Card and a good hex editor that I use is a program called XVI32, for when you downloaded, extracted it and open it, go to Edit > Replace and replace the entry in the tutorial (/data/cust/bootanimation.zip) with /system/media/bootanimation.zip, then for when you're done, put the edited bootanimation back into /system/bin, replacing the old one, it should work :)
     
  18. mcr0986

    mcr0986 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    19
    3
    16
    Ft. Lauderdale FL
    An interesting turn of events. As it turns out the bootanimation.zip file i was using was the problem not the directory. You can just directly replace the animation file in the metropcs cust folder and it will work. The only problem with this is that there is limited space available in that folder so for more complex animations you will have to change the directories.
     
  19. CyberTails

    CyberTails Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    112
    31
    63
    Male
    Glad you got it to work, I did the path change to get custom bootanimation.zip files :)
     
  20. mshuman77

    mshuman77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    I currently have an Ascend beautifully hooked up, thanks to Toke, with Icarus 1.1 and I love my phone. The crappy Cricket service, however is pissing me off to the point that I'm looking to go to MetroPCS for M835. My question is how do the two compare or do they. Is the 835 an upgrade to the Ascend and am I making a wise move. I WILL root and clean it but am I losing or gaining compared to the Ascend? Thanks in advance.
     
  21. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    The phones are essentially the same.
    But IMO the ascend is better just due to size and graphics.

    Also, metro=no 3g
     
  22. mshuman77

    mshuman77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    So how does the phone operate without 3g? Internet, apps, whatever? AND is it possible to increase my 3g connectivity or signal on my Ascend. If I can do that my problem is solved.
     
  23. Oimmuk

    Oimmuk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    Hmm, ok I have been lurking here for a bit now trying to understand some of what is being said, but as for the service of MetroPcs I can speak. I live in the DFW area of Texas and I get 3g here, as for phone service my Bro-in-law has Sprint when we go out of town foe family reunions or for funerals he keeps losing service, my wife and I on the other hand do not, out of town here in Texas can really be out in the sticks.
    Just my thoughts on the service of MetroPcs.

    Now as to the Phone I love it and am totaly facinated with it, but I know nothing about these marvels of technology. I am trying to understand, but am lost as to some terms such as Rooting?
     
  24. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    Unfortunately I know of no way to increase signal.

    Without 3g metropcs uses what's called 1x which tops around 50kbps which is about equal to dialup speeds.
     
  25. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    You may well have 3g in Dallas fort worth area.

    Some metro users have been reporting receiving 3g signals I. Metropcs 4g areas. However slot of places don't have coverage (like homestead Florida, just south of Miami so metro doesn't officially support 3g at the moment.

    Rooting could be considered equivalent to "jailbreaking" an idevice. It allows the user full control of their phone by allowing "superuser" access to the phones main directory (aka the "root" directory) that controls everything else.

    Rooting allows you to modify/delete files, such as boot animation and sound as well as CPU controls and built/locked apps.
    Rooting also allows for theming and tethering as well as some other fun stuffs.

    Hope that cleared stuff up.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...