1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Working Skype for Droid 3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by aross6, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. aross6

    aross6 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Hey all... theos0o's over at XDA coded a Skype-mod specifically for the Droid 3... I've been testing it for him and it's rockin to finally have a working Skype on the new handset! This public release is a bug-free one so if you want a properly working Skype for the Droid 3, do a search at media fire and/or XDA for it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    1,041
    256
    183
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    Link to an XDA thread?

    edit-
    Found it.

    edit again-
    Doesn't work, link removed.
     
  3. beowulf7

    beowulf7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    541
    32
    98
    Male
    Engineer
    TX
    Damn, what a tease. :(
     
  4. romshark

    romshark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010

    Dec 10, 2010
    38
    6
    36
    Virginia Beach, VA
    IzelTokatl likes this.
  5. aross6

    aross6 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    It actually works very well on the Droid 3 (other users can confirm)... did you go into settings and check Enable Video Calling?
     
  6. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    1,041
    256
    183
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    Hmm, that link above is the one I used. I'll try again in a few minutes.

    edit-
    Just tried it again, it's still doing what the other versions of Skype did for me. It shows the other person, by mine never initializes.
     
  7. aross6

    aross6 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Make sure the person on the other end's Skype is up to date... other than that, after you initialize the video call, wait a second and then double click on the small screen (to switch the view) and then switch it back (this was the trick in earlier builds), see if that helps ya!
     
  8. Schreiber

    Schreiber Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011

    I just tried it successfully with my father. Working perfect with mine.
     
  9. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    1,041
    256
    183
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    I've been continuously trying with my self (two different accounts)
    And I know for sure my PC version is up to date, it's still not working
     
  10. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    1,041
    256
    183
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    Hmm, for some reason, I had versions 2.0.0.xx installed, but I downloaded 2.1.0.46 from that thread.. No idea what happened. Re-downloading now.
     
  11. aross6

    aross6 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Lemme know if you get it working for ya!
     
  12. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    1,041
    256
    183
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    Yep that was the problem.
    Apparently I had two versions of Skype in my dropbox, and I installed the older one instead. Whoops!
     
  13. theos0o

    theos0o Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    3
    2
    6
    Glad it works for you all! :D
     
  14. cala833

    cala833 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I just downloaded Skype from signedcom.skype.raider_2.1.0.46.apk and still don't see the Video call option. All I see is:

    1.Skype call
    2. Send IM
    3.SMS

    I can't find the place to enable the video...help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  15. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    1,041
    256
    183
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    Open Skype settings (not Advanced Settings), scroll down until you see "Enable Video Calling"
     
    aaexpert likes this.
  16. cala833

    cala833 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Thank you! Works great :)
     
  17. beowulf7

    beowulf7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    541
    32
    98
    Male
    Engineer
    TX
    I downloaded it and will check this out soon. So I guess this is a hacked version of Skype? Thanks.
     
  18. mtva24

    mtva24 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    40
    0
    15
    only works in landscape for me
     
  19. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    1,041
    256
    183
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    I believe the developer said a portrait version is in the works.
     
  20. beowulf7

    beowulf7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    541
    32
    98
    Male
    Engineer
    TX
    I downloaded and installed it yesterday, which went fine. It's a little under 10 MB. I removed the link for Skype Mobile that comes w/ our phones and used Skype. Initially, video call was just an audio call, then I realized that video is not enabled by default. So I did that, called again (to someone using a PC) and it worked. I had to hold my phone in landscape mode so the person on the other end saw me right side up. Then I made a call w/ someone who has Skype on her Evo 3D (Sprint) and it worked fine there as well. Great app and thanks again! This should definitely hold us over until Skype officially supports Droid 3. :cool:
     
  21. theos0o

    theos0o Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    3
    2
    6
    There will be nothing different when (if ever) skype officially supports your phone. ;)

    Skype video-calling is landscape only, even for officially supported phones.
    One fellow dev @ xda has implemented portrait too, maybe I'll try to do the same when I'm not bored. :)
     
  22. amone

    amone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Yay! Mine works now too! Ty everyone!
     
  23. houseofgrafx

    houseofgrafx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011

    Jul 31, 2011
    139
    4
    56
    Vinyl Decals & Graphics
    Upstate, NY
    Me too...and I can't get it to work. So, my next question is how do I delete that download? I found it in my recently downloaded apps but I cannot seem to find a way to delete it.

    Also, I see a lot of people are downloading it from that link....but what's wrong with the Skype mobile app that comes on the phone? :thinking:
     
  24. amone

    amone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Get Astro File Manager to find the file and delete it. It also helps to uninstall all versions of skype you have (you can't get rid of skype mobile as far as I know). I was able to properly install it after that. Had a video chat with a friend a couple of nights ago on my phone :D
     
  25. boatman

    boatman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    448
    15
    38
    sorry for asking the dumb question but i had thought skype worked under wifi?

    i am asking this bcause i have a skype number and brought up skype on the phone , not sure if i downloaded this or it came on phone, called my number from a landline and it never answered. I know the number works , i can call my computer and it rings and answers.

    I have wifi turned on on the phone and its connected, so shouldn't skype work w this/ thanks.

    ps, i am asking this and testing now as i am going to europe. I have unlocked sim but figured my phone could be called if i was at least by wifi.
     

Share This Page

Loading...