1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root WORKING WIFI Tether

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lifeblows10, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. lifeblows10

    lifeblows10 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    471
    90
    53
    THIS ONLY WORKS FOR CM7 AT THIS TIME.

    With that said...

    Here's what I have done:

    Install WiFi Tether, this build is current and up to date:
    http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/downloads/detail?name=wifi_tether_v3_1-beta6.apk&can=2&q=

    Go into the menu and make sure that "MSS clamping" is checked, otherwise you are not going to activate the tether.

    And you should be ready to tether! Hopefully...
    Issues/Not working/other:
    -It is Ad-hoc only.
    -No security, only access control (which actually works.)

    On another note, CM7 now has Bluetooth tethering, which I find is "greener" and it just... works.


    Credit:
    THE GUYS THAT MADE WIFI TETHER, I did not make it, I just found a way to make it work for us.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

    minus5252 and rvarn1 like this.
  2. idbl_fanatic

    idbl_fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    403
    37
    43
    Where is this?
     
  3. jvillejoe

    jvillejoe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    +1^ I've looked everywhere to no avail.
     
  4. MurugaDas

    MurugaDas Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    57
    3
    16
    I know a lot of people have an aversion to pdanet but I have had great success using USB tether on my netbook.
     
  5. streetpounder

    streetpounder Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    108
    9
    36
    Change the profile to Epic 4G as he stated in the original post. turn off 4g at the very bottom and the MSS clamping option is about half way down the config page.
     
  6. lifeblows10

    lifeblows10 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    471
    90
    53

    Did you get it to work? I'm using my iPad to type this as I speak...

    And this is no joke. I'm not trying to get your hopes up. This really works. (Hopefully for everyone.)
     
  7. jvillejoe

    jvillejoe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    I must be blind.:thinking: I did it just the way op said. I do not see the option for mss clamping. I don't see the config page either.
     
  8. yellowsno12

    yellowsno12 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    1
    1
    6
    MSS Blocking is kernel dependent. What ROM are you guys running that got this working?

    I'm assuming those that can't get it to work are on Stock, or some varient of it. Thats what I've got with no success.
     
    lifeblows10 likes this.
  9. jvillejoe

    jvillejoe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Ahh! Stock kernel here explains it all.:p
     
  10. JETFIRE007

    JETFIRE007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    18
    1
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    I cannot find the setting either...

    Would you mind posting what ROM your using?
    The details count you know

    (punkmaxx's blackish ROM 2.2 Froyo)


    EDIT:Ah, you guys figured it out

    EDIT 2: Not working under Umph Kernel Oddball v1
     
  11. lifeblows10

    lifeblows10 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    471
    90
    53
    Ok, let me give my setup and try to end confusion.

    I've got CM7 Tickerguy's version. I believe I'm on his 9/12 build.

    Changed OP, I got it to work by just making the MSS Clamping option, hopefully that makes life a little easier.
     
  12. haro138

    haro138 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    179
    28
    43
    OK, just so I get it straight we need a kernal that enables MSS blocking to see and and enable the MSS clamping option? I ask because I do not see the option in the settings menu.
     
  13. ziddey

    ziddey Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    198
    24
    38
    have you tried beta 3 or newer? looks like b3 fixed mss clamping a little:
    Issue 1070 - android-wifi-tether - LG Revolution - Won't tether without MSS Clamping - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting

    i'm not on cm7 so i can't test at the moment. tried playing with mtu settings on my client with wifi tether to no avail.

    the new version also has a "routing fix" under lan, but it makes no difference


    Issue 816 - android-wifi-tether - Patch: Clamp MSS to fix broken fragmentation - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting
     
  14. lifeblows10

    lifeblows10 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    471
    90
    53
    Yes. I just updated it to v3.1 beta 6 and it works. I think it is, like yellowsno12 said, kernel dependent. I added a disclaimer and new links to the OP. I will go back to my stock build tonight and see what is up and maybe find a fix.
     
  15. poler166

    poler166 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    108
    10
    38
    Male
    PC/Tablets/Mobile Sales Associate at Best Buy in O
    San Diego, Vista
    :thinking:okay so to do this you need the cm7 build?
     
  16. lifeblows10

    lifeblows10 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    471
    90
    53
    As of right now... yes. I have PM'ed someone who I think can/will take on adding the necessary components to allow everyone to tether (if the are willing to switch kernels.) So, until further notice, this only works on CM7 based kernels.
     
    haro138 likes this.
  17. JollyRoger87

    JollyRoger87 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    403
    85
    53
    UPS
    Phoenix, Az
    There is no MSS option showing up for me!?
     
  18. lifeblows10

    lifeblows10 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    471
    90
    53
    At this time, it doesn't work for any of the 2.2 based kernels.
     
  19. poler166

    poler166 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    108
    10
    38
    Male
    PC/Tablets/Mobile Sales Associate at Best Buy in O
    San Diego, Vista
    Thanks for the Update on the Name change, and thanks for the info really hope the wifi tether gets fixed for everyone :/
     
  20. JollyRoger87

    JollyRoger87 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    403
    85
    53
    UPS
    Phoenix, Az

    With all due respect, I'm not that ignorant. I noted that the option wasn't present because I'm running CM7.
     
  21. jvillejoe

    jvillejoe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    +1^ :D

    Edit: What kernel are you using? :thinking:
     
  22. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    If you tell me which cm7 it works for I will try to make it work for princely rom in a week or two, if this actually works.
     
  23. JollyRoger87

    JollyRoger87 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    403
    85
    53
    UPS
    Phoenix, Az

    Isaacs with the over clock kernel
     
  24. metatroid

    metatroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    13
    3
    16
    Any one of you know a way to allow the phone to sleep but maintain the tether connection?

    As soon as my phone locks, my laptop disconnects, and I have to restart the tethering app.

    Keeping the screen always awake works, but I'd rather let the screen timeout.


    This is on CM7, stock did not have this issue, by the way.
     
  25. clc130

    clc130 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    80
    14
    18
    Software Quality Analyst
    Pittsburgh, PA
    To prevent the wifi lock-up issue, I believe both cm7 versions (tickerguy + issac) are set to turn off wifi on screen lock (regardless of settings). That would of course cause the tether to be disconnected.
     

Share This Page

Loading...