1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Worlds most unlucky galaxy user?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sumo, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. Sumo

    Sumo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009

    Sep 17, 2009
    133
    3
    56
    I cant beleve it im on my 3rd galaxy now and its starting to crash!

    The first one the battery would only last half a day and had many isues so it went.

    The second one would hang up calls or ring with a black screen?

    Now this one has shut down three times, twice today! the first time the battery was low and it died and would not reboot until i took the battery out,fair enough maybe i ran it too flat.

    today it crashed twice and the battery was charged fine,both times totaly dead and would only boot up when the battery was removed and reinserted.:(

    Has anyone got any ideas? Im with o2 uk and on i4 firmware.

    HELP:(
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xenon

    Xenon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009

    Aug 30, 2009
    243
    3
    36
    Croatia
    Odd. Did you root the phone or install some suspicious or little tested
    applications?

    I have had the H8 firmware for more than a month now and the phone
    has not crashed once.
     
  3. kam187

    kam187 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009

    Aug 3, 2009
    1,320
    46
    118
    UK
    First thing to try is factory reset, and not install any apps you're not totally sure about. Also fully charge your battery (using the charger not a PC) overnight.

    You could also leave it connected to your PC with adb logcat running overnight. When you wake up you should see a log of what happened before it turned off!
     
  4. Bomberman

    Bomberman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    "today it crashed twice and the battery was charged fine,both times totaly dead and would only boot up when the battery was removed and reinserted.:("

    Started happening to me last week. Same firmware and carrier. Most annoying.
     
  5. Sumo

    Sumo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009

    Sep 17, 2009
    133
    3
    56
    No i have got accu weather,bubbl,f1,handcent sms,hyper space light,movies,poke a mole and space wars and thats all the apps.I have had these on these on the other two with no crashing problems.

    I am completely crap with computers so i would never dream of rooting,so the phone is standard no mods.
     
  6. Sumo

    Sumo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009

    Sep 17, 2009
    133
    3
    56
    What did you do mate? new phone?
     
  7. pegasus21

    pegasus21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009

    Aug 26, 2009
    253
    1
    36
    I find that as of late either background data or sync is using lots of battery. It can drop 20-30% in a about 4hours. With background data disabled maybe 1% every hour.

    Crashes? Like what kam says about resetting the data. Likely the same thing with the black screens.
     
  8. Bomberman

    Bomberman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    No mate, not yet anyway. Binned a fair few apps, and it's better - still died on me this morning though :p

    edit; I should note apps that weren't all 5 star. Still, not fixed though.
     
  9. Xenon

    Xenon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009

    Aug 30, 2009
    243
    3
    36
    Croatia
    As if I cursed myself with that "phone didn't crash once post" :mad:

    Today it crashed for the first time. MyTracks was running in the background,
    camera was on and I was taking geotagged pictures. Boom. This worked
    before and the only thing I installed yesterday was Handcent SMS. Perhaps
    I should do away with it.
     
  10. Bomberman

    Bomberman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    I wouldn't say it's Handcent. My issue was happening before I installed it - in fact I uninstalled the beautiful widgets one thininking it may be that causing it.
     
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    does that accu weather use locale?
    could be down to the crash.

    seems a few people with ii4 are having problems tho :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...