1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Would a new sim make a difference?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Faqade, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. Faqade

    Faqade Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    Wales, UK
    Hi, I was just thinking about my sim card (Orange UK) and whether it would be a good idea to request a new sim as I've had this sim for nearly 8 years I think now. Would it make any difference to the signal and/or the performance in any way or is it not worth it?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    New SIM is not needed, if you don't need new SIM card services. Newer SIM card have more memory (so for example you can save 200 contacts instead of 100 on the SIM, but contacts are saved to phone on Android, so it doesn't matter). New SIM can hold programs, for example for banking, so you can control your account from the phone directly (availability depends on operator and bank), access weatherforecast or news (but there are lot of programs to do it on Android, it was useful on old phones without operating system)
     
    Faqade likes this.
  3. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I'm surprised that it's even capable of 3G/HSPDA if it's that old! My own was less than 2yrs old when I got the Hero a year ago and Orange themselves insisted on a new one with the handset. I'd get onto Orange right away and request a new SIM.
     
    Faqade likes this.
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    I've heard about people having to upgrade SIM cards to get the new data services, so I think Slug's right.

    Don't forget, you can always transfer your number to the new SIM :) Should be really easy if it's on the same network too.
     
    Faqade likes this.
  5. Faqade

    Faqade Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    Wales, UK
    Cheers for the replies. Yeh I guess it is a bit suprising that it's working with 3G etc, I have had a few text sim updates over the years so maybe that's kept it ticking over. I'll get on to Orange on Tuesday and see about a new one. Thanks :)
     
  6. Fozzy

    Fozzy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    42
    1
    16
    Student
    England
    Its the phone that deals with the HSDPA/3G etc, not the sim card. Shouldn't make a difference really. Could give it a go and see if you get any improvement, but I highly doubt you'll have any noticeable differences.
     
  7. robogo

    robogo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    268
    16
    58
    student
    Croatia
    Something related happened to me on my carrier (Tele2). I had an older SIM card which required more voltage to work properly and it just wouldn't work in my Hero. I went to Tele2, gave three signatures and waited for 5 minutes and got a new SIM which works just fine.
     
  8. clobber

    clobber Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    56
    7
    16
    Not to be rude, but this is wrong. You absolutely need a SIM that supports 3G in order to use the 3G/HSDPA network. Technically, it is called a USIM (UMTS SIM), but it does look like the normal SIM card we are familiar with. The whole system uses different authentication and encryption mechanisms. IIRC, 3G hit the U.K. in about 2004 so you might just have an old one that supports 3G.

    FYI - My Orange SIM from 2002 will not let me use 3G
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...