• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Would like LED light to come on with Tango notification

wendybill

Lurker
Jan 9, 2013
I am new to Tasker and was wondering if anyone could help me set up the LED light to blink on my Samsung G3 when I receive a Tango text message. Currently the phone makes a chirp and gives me a written notification on my notification screen but I would notice the LCD light much more.

Thanks in advance.

Wendy

I have a profile with Event-> UI ->Notification ->Notify LED. When I press the play button at the bottom right to test it--it immedicately sends me a notification and the LED light comes on just the way I want it to. The issue is---it does not happen when I get an actual Tango notification. This is likely the part I need to tighten up. How do I link up the UI Event notification with the actual Tango app notification. I have selected Tango as the app but beyond that I am not sure what to do.

Upvote 0
Glad you figured out what I was trying to convey!

When you created the notification context, did you specify Tango under "Owner Application?"

For example, I created one with gmail set as owner:

snapshot.jpg

I tried this with a Notify LED task, and it did work for me, but I think it failed to work the first time I tried it. Also, I can tell you that I tried the Notification Click functionality a few weeks ago. It sure seemed like I was doing everything correctly, but I never did get to work. So maybe Tasker's notification functionality isn't 100% robust on all devices ... I don't know. (I'm using an HTC EVO 4G, BTW.)

Are you absolutely certain that the event never fires? Is it possible that it's firing, but it is the task that's failing? You could verify that with a debug line of some sort as the first element of your task, maybe Misc->Say to output an audible verification, or Alert->Flash, for a visual verification.