1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Would like to root Samsung Galaxy Grand Prime (5.1.1)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stinger17, Feb 13, 2016.

  1. stinger17

    stinger17 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016

    Feb 13, 2016
    7
    2
    16
    Male
    OK so I just switched over from Apple to Samsung, and there are many differences between jail breaking and rooting. But really, all I would really want out of a root is two things: Be able to save games to my external SD card, and maybe get some free in app purchases later on. (My main concern is the SD card though.. I only have 8GB.) Ive already rooted once (I did it with Kingroot, because it seemed to be the only one click root I could use, because I didn't feel like using Odin) Well, I did something wrong. The root worked, and I got to save some new games to my SD. Then I shut off my phone, and then later went to turn it back on, and BOOM: It wouldn't boot, and there was a big yellow triangle with a exclamation point, with some text that I cant remember (I remember the word "kernel" was on the screen though, I think it said something like "the kernel is not secure" or something along those lines). I was able to reset my phone using Kies 3, although I lost everything. Now, though, I really want that extra space, and I can only use it with root access. The only thing that I found that maybe could have prevented that is if I unlocked the OEM. But I'm not sure. I'm hoping someone could help me and root my device, but this time not mess it up. Because I'm new to this I imagine I missed something the first time around, so it wouldn't surprise me if I missed something big.
    tl:dr: I rooted once, messed up my phone, I want to root again, but I don't know if there's a stable root for my phone
     

    Advertisement

    christistephens77 likes this.
  2. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,419
    785
    343
    Male
    Owner https://rootandroideasy.com/
    East Peoria IL
    Without a model number it's hard to say. There is a few variants of the grand prime.
     
  3. Dannydet

    Dannydet Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    918
    Posts:
    5,448
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    5,448
    3,605
    918
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
  4. stinger17

    stinger17 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016

    Feb 13, 2016
    7
    2
    16
    Male
    Sorry Im late, but my model number is SM-G530W
     
  5. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,419
    785
    343
    Male
    Owner https://rootandroideasy.com/
    East Peoria IL
    christistephens77 likes this.
  6. stinger17

    stinger17 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016

    Feb 13, 2016
    7
    2
    16
    Male

    Ok so, here was my main question. I didnt enable OEM unlocking. Would have that been the reason why my phone didnt boot?
     
  7. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,419
    785
    343
    Male
    Owner https://rootandroideasy.com/
    East Peoria IL
    Yes that would be correct, if oem unlock is not enabled it will not boot. I did see firmware for your device, dependent on the carrier at sammobile.com
     
  8. stinger17

    stinger17 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016

    Feb 13, 2016
    7
    2
    16
    Male
    I stole this from http://mobile.tumblrvip.com/tag/smg530w/ but here is exactly what my phone said:
    SM-G530W Kingroot tripped knox ‘Custom binary Blocked by FRP secure fail kernel’
    "Hello all, I used the kingroot app on my galaxy grand prime g530w ( not the computer version ) and it tripped knox. Now when I boot my phone, it says ‘Custom binary Blocked by FRP, secure fail: kernel.’ "(Copy and paste is great)
    But this is spot on what happened to me. I know its probably an annoyance that I'm asking, I just dont feel like messing up my phone again. The reason I messed up is because of not enabling OEM? Thanks in advance for your patience man, I'm slow to reply
     
  9. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,419
    785
    343
    Male
    Owner https://rootandroideasy.com/
    East Peoria IL
    Correct, if you don't enable oem unlock you will get the factory reset protection message, "FRP"

    From what i saw on XDA. I would have to say Trap kernel is a better option. Especially if you prefer SuperSU over kinguser or whatever kingroot uses.
     
    christistephens77 likes this.
  10. stinger17

    stinger17 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016

    Feb 13, 2016
    7
    2
    16
    Male
    Well cant I use https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=darkslide.com.supersumepro&hl=en .? Then wouldnt I be able to switch them?
     
    christistephens77 likes this.
  11. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,419
    785
    343
    Male
    Owner https://rootandroideasy.com/
    East Peoria IL
    Technically you should be able to do so. I also have a Grand prime but certain versions of Kingroot wouldn't let SuperSU me pro remove Kinguser. That may have been fixed not sure. That is the app i used to switch to SuperSU. I then edited the build prop to allow for native wifi tethering.
     
    christistephens77 likes this.
  12. stinger17

    stinger17 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016

    Feb 13, 2016
    7
    2
    16
    Male
    You lost me on the last sentence, but I don't think I need to do that.I'm just doing this so I can move apps to my SD card, and I just wanna say switch over to SuperSu to say I have it in case I do need it. I'll try this out on Sunday, and it should work. Ill let you know what happens
     
  13. stinger17

    stinger17 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016

    Feb 13, 2016
    7
    2
    16
    Male
    Ok well, the good news is my phone boots (yay). But I think Im stuck with Kinguser, at least for the time being. I downloaded SuperSu Me and it isnt going past "processing". Oh well. At least I can save apps to my SD card. Thanks for your help :)
     
  14. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,419
    785
    343
    Male
    Owner https://rootandroideasy.com/
    East Peoria IL
    No problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...