1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Would this backup/restore have problems?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by EdNerd, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. EdNerd

    EdNerd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    182
    6
    56
    I have a Samsung Fascinate running 2.1-update1. My wife has an LG Enlighten with 2.3 - not sure what build - but mine freezes with every OTA atempt and hers updates, so I'm considering changing from my phone to hers. (She's given up on using a smart phone!)

    I have MyBackup Pro. I can make backups of everything and save them to the SD card.

    Wondering if it would *likely* work if I did a backup from the Fascinate nto the card, installed the card into the Enlighten (after doing a factory reset on the Enlighten), and then did a restore? The object, of course, is to install all the apps, media/etc, and settings that are currently on my Fascinate onto the Enlighten so I could pick it up and use it with little if any speed bump?

    The system is different, the screen size is different, the LG has a physical keyboard and buttons, the LG and Fascinate have different layouts in the app drawer and who knows where else .... Are these enough to cause a crash? Or d'ya think it just might work?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    If you do just the applications, you should be fine. The system settings, layout, etc would likely not work. I personally would not recommend you try to restore those. It'll bork things. ;)
     
  3. EdNerd

    EdNerd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    182
    6
    56
    Understand the system settings. What I'm wondering about is the app settings - are they at the system level? or do they reside at app level and would likely be backed up with the app? (I'd hate to have to go in and totally reset my K-9 email, for example! I'm not sure I remember everything!!)

    Ed
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...